Grandma's Butterscotch Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Great recipe - as others mentioned, a double boiler is not required. Changes: Subtracted 1/4 cup of sugar and used dark brown sugar. Used a vanilla bean to boost flavor. In the future I would use less salt, maybe reduce by half. I think the 1/2 tsp as indicated is fine if you use kosher salt. Poured into a graham cracker crust and bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I have tried several versions to try and make a butterscoth pie that was like my grandmothers, several failed attempts have been tried, but this one is it, great pie, not to sweet, and not to runny. This is a keeper to pass on to my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherry
Home Town: Exeter, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
First time I made it I used flour instead of cornstarch and it didn't work out very well. Didn't thicken. It had yummy taste but not very nice looking. I decided to try it again and use corn starch. I also doubled the recipe by 1/2 (3 cups milk, 3 egg yolks etc) and it worked excellent! I found the first time it settled down and didn't fill the 9" dish to the top. This is it went right to the rim..a nice thick pie! Next time I make it I will probably add a tablespoon or so of butterscotch extract to give it a little more butterscotchy flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
this is my son's favorite pie. The only changes I made were adding 1 more tablespoon of cornstarch because i use 1% milk. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I don't know if it was using light brown sugar or what, but this was just sweet for the sake of sweet and it did NOT have butterscotch flavor. I took one bite. My husband took one bite. The entire pie went in the trash. Maybe butterscotch pie is supposed to be sweet, but the pie my grandma made when I was a kid was not so sweet that your stomach was upset because of the sweetness and it actually had good flavor. My husband will eat almost anything so for him to say its too sweet and flavorless and to trash it after just one bite says a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mazock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Deckerville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
We loved this. It really helps to top with some cool whip, as the pie is very rich and sweet. I'm an egg white eater, so it was great to have something to do with the yolks!! I followed the recipe exactly (except used a pan instead of double boiler) and it turned out perfect. You must be patient during the thickening process. It takes several minutes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
great flavor, was unable to get it to thicken even after continuing to add cornstarch and much time stirring at the stove. very dissapointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Great flavor. The appearance was not all that great, though. My husband, who requested Butterscotch Pie for Thanksgiving, was not going to take a slice because it just didn't look appealing. It's not as golden as if you had made it using instant pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynna_Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcade, New York, USA
Living In: Lindale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
omg microwaved as suggested & it was so amazing my husband can't believe it wasn't form a box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhonda hathaway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
A disappointment after reading the good reviews. A consistency far too much like jello than a pudding. Plus, the taste is of a straight bland sweetness than a flavorful butterscotch. Lastly, I'm not sure what "brown" means from the baking, but mine didn't change colors after 10+ minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States