Grandma's Butterscotch Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Best pie ever! The only bad thing is, I don't know how I will afford the new clothes for all the extra weight I will gain. I am making it at least twice a week, doubling the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
My mix never thickened up. Added 3 more TBS of cornstarch. Ended b up cooking so long that a lot of the mixture evaporated. Did let even fill the entire pie crust. Baked and Baked and Baked, never hardened up. Had to eventually take it out because i didnt want to burn the cruat. Sitting and cooling now, a big globby mess. As for taste, I just don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Sue Bakes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Excellent just like my grandmother but def on the sweet side. I had a little trouble with it being runny, may use some evap milk next time. I used a deep dish pie crust and I had to make 1/2 the recipe again to fill the crust. I topped w merengue and it was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made this pie for Christmas and it was absolutely deliscious. I did not use a double boiler either, and it turned out just fine. I will keep this recipe and take the pie to my next potluck because the ingredients were simple and it was so easy to make. I cannot not imagine anyone not raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I made this delicious pie following the directions the night before I was serving it. It was in the refrigerator for 15 hours. However, when I cut the pie, I could not lift out a piece in pie form. It was way too soft as if the filling hadn’t set. I had to use a spoon to serve the butterscotch over the pie crust. Taste was wonderful, presentation not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Was very tastey and easy to make. Topped with whipped cream and chocolate shavings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Love this recipe, I have made it for many occasions. I would not try to top it with a baked meringue again as reheating it in the oven turns it into soup - my fault. I now top it with whip cream or a no bake meringue and a dusting of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loretta's Recipe Journal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carleton Place, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Doubled the recipe for a 9 1/2 inch pie plate. It was a substantial looking desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This recipe is delicious! Much better flavor than boxed butterscotch pudding. It's even better if you use a graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Oh my goodness, This pie is "the" pie that you've been looking for!! This is a true old fashioned butterscotch pie!! Excellent taste & consistency. I made this for Boss's day this year and had rave reviews!! I would have rated it higher if I could have, this is an awesome pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States