Grandma's Brown Sugar Drop Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
These puffed up nicely while baking but flattened out as they cooled. Kind of too sweet and gummy, even after adding a little more flour. I won't try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
After reading some of the reviews I reduced the baking soda to 1 tsp and also used only 1 egg. I added a tsp of almond extract and as I didn't have enough shortening, I topped it off with margarine. The end result was pretty tasty. I made them for a play date and all the kids and moms really liked them. The did spread more than I had realized they were going to so my pan became one big cookie that I had to seperate, but even so they were a soft, chewy, brown sugary delight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Reduced baking soda and loved the outcome. I liked that it wasn't overwhelmingly sweet and turned out being soft and a little fluffy. My husband just about ate the whole batch. Thanks for offering it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Not very good, cakelike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
Okay, I took the advice of some of the other reviewers of this recipe, and added a little less baking soda. WOW these cookies are amazing!! I added raisins and pecans, because the cookies just seemed to ask for them! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
These were more like cake than cookies. They are soft and puffy. They could also be a little sweeter. Probably a good cookie to put icing on. If I decide to try this recipe again, I will omit one egg so it won't be so puffy. I also used only 1 teasp. baking soda. It was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
This recipe was great and easy. After a first try they weren't quite right but then I added some almond extract to it and they really worked. The almond did not distract from the taste, it added lots to it. When I make them I can barely keep them in the house they go so fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
I think this is a great recipe, aside from the overwhelming taste of baking soda. I had to reduce it to 1/2 a tsp to get a normal tasting cookie...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2000
I made these for a women's retreat that I went to a few weeks ago. I left some at home for my husband and he couldn't stop eating them. I sent the leftovers home with my mom and my brothers & Dad loved them too. There was a faint taste of ginger in them, but I don't know where it came from. Bottom line, I'd definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States