Grandma's Brown Sugar Drop Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Easy to make, but had a very strong taste of baking powder. I don't think I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurenholly2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
OMG! This was the best recipie I have ever had for brown sugar drops. They were soft (but not mushy) and chewy. I recomend adding a little bit of ginger and a little bit more cinnamon. We couldn't stop eating them! We also only baked for nine minutes instead of 10-12
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
It was an easy recipe. Not to crazy about all the shortening. Would make again but with butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Good cookie - my adjustments: one egg instead of two, only 1/2 tsp baking soda, only 1/2 tbls water, and I added 1 tsp vanilla, I used oil instead of shortening and refrigerated for an hour before baking so they wouldn't run together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Too much lard, or too little flour. The cookies ended up melting into eachother and turned cakelike, so after the first batch was in for five mins (and we noticed) we mixed everything together onto one cookie sheet. Smells and tastes great...its cooking now and we have high hopes of this becoming good Brown Sugar Squares!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Very nice and easy. I added a teaspoon of vanilla to kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elko, Nevada, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This recipe is very fun! It tastes more like a cinnamon cookie than a brown sugar cookie. Too much baking soda though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I should have read the reviewws befoe I started this recipe... I made the cookie dough just as instructed and tasted it the soda was overwhealming so I came in and read the reviews and saw that I was not the only who had the soda problem so I went back and made another half of the recipe and added it to the first bowl.. much better... then I it in the fridge to set for half an hour... when I put them on the cookie sheet I sprinkled a few gingrsnap crumbs that I had left over from another recipe that turned out to be a very nice touch I am going to take them to a cookie exchng tomarrow but will take an altered recipe with them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnemucca, Nevada, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I too removed soe baking soda from the recipe. Many bakers discussed how the dough was soft and a little "runny." Pop the dough into the refridgerator for a few hours and it is very easy to use. DO NOT restir the dough. The baking soda will be working!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I thought these were really good and nice and soft, but I did add more flour as it seemed pretty thin to me. My family gobbled them up in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Gayle Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiffin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States