Grandma's Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Best Passover brisket I have ever made- to solve ALL cooking problems -use one of those plastic cooking bags- amazing soft as butter no problem results- put all the carrots red potatoes and the like in the bag too- amazing results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This recipe is a staple at our house; I make it at least twice a week for Shabbat dinner. I typically triple all of the ingredients. I made some minor changes to the recipe; I sprinkle the brisket with salt, black pepper & parsley flakes. I only use organic ketchup or any ketchup that DOES NOT have corn syrup in it. I have nothing against corn syrup, I've just found that the brisket has a better flavor when I use the ketchup without it. I also use Vernor's ginger soda as I've found this brand to add the best flavor without being overly sweet. Sometimes I leave the carrots out & it's still great. I cook in my convection roasting oven at 375 degrees for the recommended time. I then take the brisket out of the oven & let it rest for 15-20 minutes. Then, I slice it & put it along with the sauce in a large crock pot on low until I'm ready to serve. It's crazy but every single person that has eaten the brisket prepared this way says it's the best they've ever had & we're talking more than 60 people!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves 2 Cook!

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
Very very successful! Since we can't get ginger ale, I substituted with equal amounts of Coke-a Cola and sweet red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
This was FANTASTIC!!! And so easy to prepare. I made it last night for Passover (doubled the recipe because there were 9 of us) and everyone loved it. Instead of cutting up large carrots, I simply added about 2 dozen baby carrots. My 24 year old godson who loves to cook, enjoyed the brisket so much, I sent him home with a copy of the recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
Strange ingredients, but very delicious! I used a bottle of chili sauce instead of the ketchup. Wonderful flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Beware, this is a very sweet sauce. I even subbed half ketchup and half chili sauce and it was still too sweet. The taste was not bad, just too sweet for my family as we don't like meat to have a sweet taste. I guess I thought the soup mix would counter the sweet factor but it didn't. The brisket did turn out very tender and sliced perfectly. I rinsed the carrots off because they were coated with the sweet syrupy sauce! Didn't serve the sauce with the meat, but heated bottled bbq sauce instead. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
FABULOUS recipe. I was worried that not having a marinated piece of meat would produce subpar results but this recipe is easy, flavorful, and requires no marination! I added a couple shots of worcestershire and garlic powder to the sauce. Served with boiled potatoes and green beans and carrots and drizzled the sauce on everything. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MCPARKER
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This was so good! My family loved this recipe! We added potatoes! This recipe has a sweet taste to it. I will be making this every St.Pattys day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I have made this recipe many times and it never fails to please. I usually add more carrots and onions than called for, along with a few potatoes. Always comes out moist, tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I've reviewed a good number of recipes. Some, probably overly critically. Always in search of that depth of flavor that makes the dish really come alive. "Grandma's Brisket" is, how can I say this? Fantastic. Buttery smooth. Melt in your mouth. Delicious. You don't even have to chew. And who would want to? If you chew that means you have to swallow. That means the taste is gone and you have to eat....more. It's almost indescribable. It's that good. The only change I made, was to use a cooking bag for the first two hours and cut it open for the last hour. The beef melts in your mouth. Soft. Chewy. The carrots, infused with the beefy, onion, tomato flavor, are a meal unto themselves. They're that good. The wet works, left over in the bottom of the pan, are liquid gold. There is no other way to describe it. Spoon them over the sliced meat and this is....perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States