Grandma's Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I only used a 2 pounds brisket and cooked at 350 for a little less than 2 hours. Very good, although I think I messed something up because the sauce/gravy wasn't very thick. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Instead of putting this in the oven, we use the crock pot and it's Excellent! The mean & carrots come out so tender and juicy. We also add potatoes with it. I found this recipe about 2 weeks ago and we've had it twice already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Based on the ratings I took a chance and made this for a holiday gathering without testing it first. It was amazing. I was surprised considering my grandmother's recipe takes days and several steps; not to mention at least twenty ingredients. The carrots were caramelized and sweet, the onions were brown and juicy. My guests raved about it for days. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janessa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was very tasty! I'm only giving it 4 instead of 5 stars because it was not tender enough after 3 hours in the oven. I sliced it up after 3 hours and put it in a crock pot on high for 2 more hours. Then, it was nice and tender. I was also concerned about it being too sweet so I used Newcastle beer instead of ginger ale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
My husband's grandmother makes this exact recipe, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Easy, delicious. My husband liked it better than his mother's recipe, and he LOVES his mother's brisket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
i have cooked this for seders and holidays and got raves from all my jewish friends. great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
woooooow!! This brisket came out AMAZING! My fiance said it was the best brisket he has ever tasted! Even over his own mothers! I left in the oven for a bit longer then suggested and it literally fell apart it was so tender! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Absolutely fantastic - I've made it 2x now - huge success. I add extra carrots and potatoes, and use half white potatoes half sweet potatoes. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This recipe was easy, but I think that the cooking time should be cut down by 20 minutes on the first time and maybe 30 minutes without the lid. Or maybe keep it covered for the entire time. It was a little dry. Also, I think that catsup shoud be cut in half, and add a half cup of cocktail sauce. There should be more of a balance of salty, sweet and spicy. I also added more carrots and potatoes. Next time I will try mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States