Grandma's Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Wow, even my very finicky son loved this. He asked that I make it again, but not too often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This was delicious!! I was hesitant at first, but with all of the good reviews I figured I would try it. I used a 5lb brisket and cooked it at 350 covered for 3 hours and then 1 hour uncovered. The only problem was that I did not double the ketchup/gingerale/onion soup mix so we did not have enough gravy for the leftovers. I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
BEST BRISKET RECIPE EVER! I've been using Allrecipes.com for years and this is the first time I felt compelled to write a review. I made the recipe exactly as written complete with carrots and onions. The only difference is that I used a 6lb brisket so I doubled everything. My entire family including grandparents and cousins polished off the whole thing (I was planning on leftovers!). Finally, I've found "my" brisket recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Absolutely tasty. Hubby loved it. I found it too tough and stringy for my taste. I think I'll marinate it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBatson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Very delicious, cooked in the slow cooker for 6hours, also used this for a pork roast and that was very yummy too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Very yummy and so simple to make! However, during the last hour of cooking I had to add water as the sauce was getting very thick and I was scared it would burn. So every few minutes during the last hour I added a bit of water and it still tasted GREAT! The added water didn't dilute the taste one bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Yum...just yum! I put about 4 small potatoes cut up in the pan, and it always comes out great. One time I felt as if I didn't have enough liquid so the next time I made it I wound up doubling the liquid - which was a BAD idea! So definitely don't do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I've reviewed a good number of recipes. Some, probably overly critically. Always in search of that depth of flavor that makes the dish really come alive. "Grandma's Brisket" is, how can I say this? Fantastic. Buttery smooth. Melt in your mouth. Delicious. You don't even have to chew. And who would want to? If you chew that means you have to swallow. That means the taste is gone and you have to eat....more. It's almost indescribable. It's that good. The only change I made, was to use a cooking bag for the first two hours and cut it open for the last hour. The beef melts in your mouth. Soft. Chewy. The carrots, infused with the beefy, onion, tomato flavor, are a meal unto themselves. They're that good. The wet works, left over in the bottom of the pan, are liquid gold. There is no other way to describe it. Spoon them over the sliced meat and this is....perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I love this VERY easy recipe. It is very flavorful and easy to do. The only draw back is that it takes 3 hours to cook, so it needs to be a meal I do over the weekend or when I get home early from work. I also let it marinate overnight by preparing it the day before. I also throw in more veggies like big chunks of onions, squash & zucchini. I would include broccoli, but I know it won't cook well. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was okay, but I don't think I will do again....vegetables were wonderful but the meat was a bit dry and boring. I had a 6 pound brisket so I doubled everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States