Grandma's Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Absolutely tasty. Hubby loved it. I found it too tough and stringy for my taste. I think I'll marinate it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBatson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Very delicious, cooked in the slow cooker for 6hours, also used this for a pork roast and that was very yummy too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Very yummy and so simple to make! However, during the last hour of cooking I had to add water as the sauce was getting very thick and I was scared it would burn. So every few minutes during the last hour I added a bit of water and it still tasted GREAT! The added water didn't dilute the taste one bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Yum...just yum! I put about 4 small potatoes cut up in the pan, and it always comes out great. One time I felt as if I didn't have enough liquid so the next time I made it I wound up doubling the liquid - which was a BAD idea! So definitely don't do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I've reviewed a good number of recipes. Some, probably overly critically. Always in search of that depth of flavor that makes the dish really come alive. "Grandma's Brisket" is, how can I say this? Fantastic. Buttery smooth. Melt in your mouth. Delicious. You don't even have to chew. And who would want to? If you chew that means you have to swallow. That means the taste is gone and you have to eat....more. It's almost indescribable. It's that good. The only change I made, was to use a cooking bag for the first two hours and cut it open for the last hour. The beef melts in your mouth. Soft. Chewy. The carrots, infused with the beefy, onion, tomato flavor, are a meal unto themselves. They're that good. The wet works, left over in the bottom of the pan, are liquid gold. There is no other way to describe it. Spoon them over the sliced meat and this is....perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I love this VERY easy recipe. It is very flavorful and easy to do. The only draw back is that it takes 3 hours to cook, so it needs to be a meal I do over the weekend or when I get home early from work. I also let it marinate overnight by preparing it the day before. I also throw in more veggies like big chunks of onions, squash & zucchini. I would include broccoli, but I know it won't cook well. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was okay, but I don't think I will do again....vegetables were wonderful but the meat was a bit dry and boring. I had a 6 pound brisket so I doubled everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
You should change the title to Amazing Brisket. The dinner turned out that good. I followed some of the changes. I did the chili sauce instead of ketchup. I added 2 bay leaves. I put peeled potatoes and celery along with baby carrots and onion all around roasting pan. After 2 hours of baking I removed the foil and then sprinkled with paprika. Tell Grandma I said thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I followed this recipe (minus the carrots -- didn't have any) except I cooked it in the crockpot on low for 8 hours as I had the time. I did not substitute or omit other ingredients. Wouldn't doubt it was fantastic if cooked as instructed. It turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I never have any luck with brisket but this was a real winner. So proud of myself. Just needed more liquid. Of course added potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States