Grandma's Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
The best blueberry pie I have ever tasted, period. My mom agrees and the rest of the family enjoyed it as well :) I used fresh blueberries ("Elliot") from our garden and "Pie Crust IV" from this site. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I made this exactly as stated, except with frozen blueberries that I thawed and drained. I also brushed egg-white and sprinkled a little sugar on the crust before baking. My husband said it was the best piece of pie he had ever eaten!! Fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I'm no chef, but my pie came out wonderfully! This is a perfect recipe, simple and delicious. I recommend making your own crust with the Crisco recipe and sprinkling some cinnamon and sugar on top as a finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I absolutely LOVE this recipe! It is perfect, so don't go changing a thing. If you are using frozen blueberries it is very important to allow them to reach room temperature and drain off the excess liquid. Otherwise your pie will be soupy. Also, along the lines of frozen berries, you will need measure out more than 3 cups (you're looking at more like 4 1/2 to 5) so that when they are thawed and drained you'll end up with the 3 cups the recipe calls for. This recipe also works very well with other berries: raspberry, blackberry, strawberry, or try a mixture of berries. Also is perfect using the "Miracle Baking Powder Pie Crust" also found on Allrecipes.com Happy Baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BarbW
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This blueberry pie recipe is the best I've tried. The berries are not too sweet, not too tart; the consistency is not too runny, not too congealed. Perfect! I personally believe that using tapioca as a thickening agent gives much better results than flour or cornstarch. The filling doesn't get murky or gloppy. I made two crusts rather than the lattice top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I made this for my dad for father's day and he gave it rave reviews. I used a Pillsbury refrigerated crust and followed the directions exactly. I'll definately be making this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TLC
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe as written. I used fresh blueberries with maybe 1/4 extra than the recipe calls for. I think tapioca works much better than flour or cornstarch, as my experience with those is that they cloud up the filling and it doesn't make for such a pretty fresh looking pie. For the pastry I used Basic Flaky Pie Crust from this site; also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
wow. it was a sunday afternoon and me and my friend decided to do something productive so we made a pie. this was not just a pie, but the best pie i have ever had in my entire life or ever will have in the future to come. thank you grandma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This was the best blueberry pie ever!!!! my dad went crazy over it and he wants me to make me one to take to work!!!! yummy yummy I wouldn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Ridiculously easy recipe with exceptionally tasty results. I used frozen blueberries added extra tapioca and a bit of extra sugar...turned out great! We even ate it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States