Grandma's Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I have to say first that I LOVE BLUEBERRIES! They are my absolute favorite fruit. So of course a Blueberry Pie sounded wonderful to me. I looked over the ingredients and decided to give this recipe a try. I had to use frozen Bluberries instead of fresh because fresh are WAY to EXPENSIVE right now. I thawed the berries then drained the juice that comes along with fruit being frozen. I made the recipe exactly as written except I added a tiny bit more cinnamon (because it is a wonderful spice) and about a 1/2 c. more of the berries just because I had a little extra. The pie smelled wonderful as it baked and when my hubby finally arrived home we tasted it. Oh dear..very very good! My husband said the only complaint he had was it didnt have vanilla ice cream to go along with it. (I thought about that half way through the cooking process) Oh well..I will buy some today and we will enjoy the pie again tonight. But this time with some vanilla ice cream. Thanks for the recipe Natalie--it was DELICIOUS! What a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I absolutely LOVE this recipe! It is perfect, so don't go changing a thing. If you are using frozen blueberries it is very important to allow them to reach room temperature and drain off the excess liquid. Otherwise your pie will be soupy. Also, along the lines of frozen berries, you will need measure out more than 3 cups (you're looking at more like 4 1/2 to 5) so that when they are thawed and drained you'll end up with the 3 cups the recipe calls for. This recipe also works very well with other berries: raspberry, blackberry, strawberry, or try a mixture of berries. Also is perfect using the "Miracle Baking Powder Pie Crust" also found on Allrecipes.com Happy Baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This was easy & very tasty. I used fresh blueberries. Due to limited time, I used refrigerated pie crusts (used glass/Pyrex pan as recommended on the box. The second time I made it, I took it to a dinner party (served it a la mode)--they loved it & wanted the recipe. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I made my own crust and skipped the lattice top - just pierced some holes in the top crust with knife. We only had frozen blueberries so we increased the amount to 5 cups (measured when frozen). The blueberry mixture was VERY watery and I was afraid it wouldn't set so I added one extra tablespoon of tapioca and it set beautifully! The pie was very sweet and didn't have the nice tartness blueberry pies should have so next time I will decrease the amount of sugar. I brushed the top with an egg wash and sprinkled sanding sugar over the top crust. I also decreased the oven temperature by 15 degrees because it always seems to keep my crust from burning. Everybody loved it and I would definitely recommend this recipe! UPDATE: I decreased the sugar by 1/4 cup and it was still very sweet. Next time I will try 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Ridiculously easy recipe with exceptionally tasty results. I used frozen blueberries added extra tapioca and a bit of extra sugar...turned out great! We even ate it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I made this pie for my family. My husband loved it, but it turned out a little runnier than I expected. I guess I did not account for the juice in the blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Gtz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elma, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Photo by TLC
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe as written. I used fresh blueberries with maybe 1/4 extra than the recipe calls for. I think tapioca works much better than flour or cornstarch, as my experience with those is that they cloud up the filling and it doesn't make for such a pretty fresh looking pie. For the pastry I used Basic Flaky Pie Crust from this site; also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
The best blueberry pie I have ever tasted, period. My mom agrees and the rest of the family enjoyed it as well :) I used fresh blueberries ("Elliot") from our garden and "Pie Crust IV" from this site. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
wow. it was a sunday afternoon and me and my friend decided to do something productive so we made a pie. this was not just a pie, but the best pie i have ever had in my entire life or ever will have in the future to come. thank you grandma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This pie is good but it didn't set up like i thought it would. It was a little runny but tasted good. I think i'll try it again but maybe a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parr-lindsay

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States