Grandma's Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I absolutely LOVE this recipe! It is perfect, so don't go changing a thing. If you are using frozen blueberries it is very important to allow them to reach room temperature and drain off the excess liquid. Otherwise your pie will be soupy. Also, along the lines of frozen berries, you will need measure out more than 3 cups (you're looking at more like 4 1/2 to 5) so that when they are thawed and drained you'll end up with the 3 cups the recipe calls for. This recipe also works very well with other berries: raspberry, blackberry, strawberry, or try a mixture of berries. Also is perfect using the "Miracle Baking Powder Pie Crust" also found on Allrecipes.com Happy Baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I'm no chef, but my pie came out wonderfully! This is a perfect recipe, simple and delicious. I recommend making your own crust with the Crisco recipe and sprinkling some cinnamon and sugar on top as a finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I made this exactly as stated, except with frozen blueberries that I thawed and drained. I also brushed egg-white and sprinkled a little sugar on the crust before baking. My husband said it was the best piece of pie he had ever eaten!! Fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This pie is good but it didn't set up like i thought it would. It was a little runny but tasted good. I think i'll try it again but maybe a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parr-lindsay
Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
My family loved this pie. I didn't have tapioca so I used corn starch. It was a little runny so maybe tapioca would work better. The flavor was wonderful especially with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I made this exactly per recipe and was very disappointed as it was very runny and never did set up like I wanted it to. The flavor was good but that is about all that was. Will keep looking for THE recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I loved it. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This is the best blueberry pie I have ever made. AND it was so easy. I've tried many recipies which I have now tossed out. My pies always came out too runny. This one was perfect. This is my only blueberry pie recipie from now on. Thanks Natalie for Grandma's recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This was easy & very tasty. I used fresh blueberries. Due to limited time, I used refrigerated pie crusts (used glass/Pyrex pan as recommended on the box. The second time I made it, I took it to a dinner party (served it a la mode)--they loved it & wanted the recipe. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I have to say first that I LOVE BLUEBERRIES! They are my absolute favorite fruit. So of course a Blueberry Pie sounded wonderful to me. I looked over the ingredients and decided to give this recipe a try. I had to use frozen Bluberries instead of fresh because fresh are WAY to EXPENSIVE right now. I thawed the berries then drained the juice that comes along with fruit being frozen. I made the recipe exactly as written except I added a tiny bit more cinnamon (because it is a wonderful spice) and about a 1/2 c. more of the berries just because I had a little extra. The pie smelled wonderful as it baked and when my hubby finally arrived home we tasted it. Oh dear..very very good! My husband said the only complaint he had was it didnt have vanilla ice cream to go along with it. (I thought about that half way through the cooking process) Oh well..I will buy some today and we will enjoy the pie again tonight. But this time with some vanilla ice cream. Thanks for the recipe Natalie--it was DELICIOUS! What a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States