Grandma's Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
My new favorite pie. Easy and beautiful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I did like this recipe...the problem is that is EXTREMELY sweet...I had 1/8 of the pie and really the overpowered sweetness made me reject it....I almost took some of the sugar off when preparing the filling but did want to try the recipe at first as is...I am a person who does no like too much sweet on something. I think that the best way to go is cut the sugar depending on the sweetness of your blueberries...I however, differ on the opting out of the cinnamon...I really think is ok in the recipe BUT it will be better with less sugar to have a good balance of sweetness and cinnamon flavor...as you can see the problem is the SUGAR in this recipe but as an overall the quickness and easiness wins so just modify it accordingly and it should be fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
this was a good pie it was just a little to sweet, the berries i had were very sweet though, next time i will taste then decide how much sugar. We ate it after it had cooled slightly, but i have to say it was way better the next day, it held up when cut (the next day not so much from the over as to be expected)i will make this again but with less sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This pie is absolutely amazing! My father has always said that his mom used to make the best blueberry pie and he hadn't had blueberry pie in decades. For his birthday this year I got on allrecipes and found this recipe. I made it and it was a success. He was so impressed with the gesture that he almost cried. He even said it was better than grandmas pie that she used to make. I did read the reviews though and added 1/4 cup less sugar and a little bit of lemon zest. Perfect! Will be making this pie again for sure! Thanks grandma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This pie was easy and delicious. I used the Pillsbury crusts you roll out and made the lattice top which was easier than I thought it would be. I followed the recipe exactly and I didn't think it was too sweet and I don't eat much sugar. Now that I think of it, I believe I had more blueberries than three cups...I used whatever comes in two pints, about 4 cups (so I didn't really follow the recipe exactly). But anyways, this is a GREAT recipe and it will be the only blueberry pie recipe I will make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Porterfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I have made this pie several times, and my family cannot get enough of it!! It is so simple to make and tastes DELICIOUS!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I made 3 of these pies for a luncheon. I blinked and they were all gone. Everyone raved about the pies. Very fast, easy and delicious. I used frozen blueberries, which worked just as well as fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Is easy to make and wonderful to eat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Great tasting pie and I love the use of the tapioca! Blueberries were frozen so I took the advice of others and used 5 cups of blueberries and a few more tbsp of tapioca. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I made this pie for my family. My husband loved it, but it turned out a little runnier than I expected. I guess I did not account for the juice in the blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Gtz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elma, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States