Grandma's Blackberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I have been sitting on my tush with a broken leg dreaming up food cravings and a craving for blackberry pie has been tormenting me. Last night my hubby was a sweetheart and made me this! We only had about 3 cups of berries, so we made this in a 6" pie plate and used Pillsbury pastry. We used 1/3 cup of sugar to compensate for the amount of fruit and it was delish with some ice-cream! The idea of putting the apple on the bottom really worked for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
My all-time favorite pie is blackberry-been making for years. I find when you have pastry cold then put pie pan on a pre-heated cookie sheet it helps to stop bottom crust from getting so mushy. I also use tapioca to thicken the filling. I only pick the juiciest, sweetest berries I can find so my blackberry pies can soak up a lot of tapioca. I haven't tasted the Oregon blackberries another reader talked of however berries on Vancouver Island are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
If you will use pears instead of apples, pears are much sweeter and you won't have to use as much sugar. I'm going to try this with 2 small pears and use 1/4 c of sugar. I am going to mix the pears throughout the mixture instead of laying on the bottom. This is a little trip I learned years ago with making sweet apple pies when your apples are tart and lessening the sugar for a healthier pie. Pear juice is many times added to fruit juices for sweetening so less sugar is used. Check your fruit juice ingredients the next time you purchase a bottle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
My Granma was born in 1890 and this is her exact recipe for crust and pie filling! On the prairies of Minnesota (think Laura Ingalls) they used wild blackberries and grated crab apples. As one poster said, the apples don't SOAK up the juices; it's the natural pectin in the apples that gels the juices. I've been making and eating this pie for 60 years; it's nice to see this recipe published.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELDERBERRYBABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Very good recipe. Instead of cutting the apple I grated it on the large holes of a boxed grater then squeezed the juice out in a towel, and mixed in with the blackberries (saw this technique on a public radio program for blueberry pie). The pectin that the apple releases is what helps to thicken up the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This is very similar to my husbands grandmother's pie, same crust - filling slightly different. The berries are 3 cups and apples 3 cups and add a teaspoon of cinnamon and some thickner like cornstarch or tapioca. I like a little more apple because of the seeds of the blacberries. If anyone else has the same thing about seeds this will give you the same blackberry taste without so many seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Wolske

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconto Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Gillett, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tre237
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
the apples did an amazing job taking in the extra juices from the black berries. It was a very unique and great tasting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I basically liked this pie. The crust was good although I had trouble rolling it out. I used frozen berries which in hindsight wasn't the best option, my pie was a little runny. I don't think the apples did much either. I liked this enough to want to try again with FRESH berries though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakermom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
My first pie, EVER. Making, not eating. I've eaten many. Sarah walked me through it, step by step. Even showed me how to use the medieval torture device cleverly disguised as an apple peeler/corer she kept out on the counter. Great pie, though I'm not convinced the apple slices in the bottom of the crust do anything to absorb the liquid. They're great in the pie, however! Thank you, Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Gruntled Gourmand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Well now.. nothing like a blackberry pie according to my husband. I had some problems with the amount of moisture in crust.. alot of water, along with the addition of the vinegar and egg.. so I ended up only using 3 or so TBS.. USE CAUTION HERE! I also whipped it up in my food processor. No muss, no fuss! I prefer my own family recipe for crust, but I like to try a recipe exactly as written at first - it's not fair to stray from a recipe then criticize it. My pet peave! I think your Grandma is wise beyond her years.. blackberry pies are either incredibly way too juicy or they are thickened way too much with flour or cornstarch - this is just perfect. I did use frozen blackberries and added a tablespoon of flour to toss into them though.. just to be on the safe side. From a former Oregonian, I can attest that Oregon blackberries are the best anywhere on earth.. we had them growing wild everywhere.. and I could never keep my horses, or my husband out of them! Delish, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States