Grandma's Best Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pat
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Great ! Added walnuts. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This is the best! And with my zucchini plants going crazy this year, I will be using it over and over. I added dried cranberries to some and fresh pineapple to others and my next batch will be fresh apricots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbi Bianchi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I made this without eggs ( an accident ). It still turned out great! I just keep making it without eggs and use cranberries instead of dates. Thanks for posting this delicious recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This is my go-to zucchini bread recipe, always gets rave reviews from those who snag a slice. Recently I started cutting the oil in half with apple sauce and I can't taste a difference. Much less fat with all the taste? That's a win-win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I added ground Cloves 1 extra Cinnamon Raisens & Dates this is one of my favorites Breads I like full of life in the bread held the pepper. Baked until golden Brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This was really good and not too dry as other reviewers have suggested. I did not, however, drain my zucchini as others may have. I figured all that juicy goodness was just going to make the bread all that much better. The addition of the dates also adds moistness (and body) to the bread. The black pepper is BRILLIANT! Can't really tell it is there but there is a "little something" that makes it different. I made a second batch and used freshly grated ginger (quite a lot actually) and that really pushed the flavors over the edge. You can make this batter into large loafs, mini loafs or muffins. You could probably even do it as a cake (ala Carrot Cake) just fill whatever pans you are using 2/3 full and adjust the baking time accordingly. A keeper recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Dry but tasty-could have benefited from some applesauce or something to moisten it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This is an acceptable, not remarkable, zucchini bread. It is not moist enough, and a little more spice wouldn’t hurt either, although I did like the addition of the dates. Most important, I’m disappointed with the loaf itself. While I should have known better than to continue on when the batter filled only about one-third of the pan, I should also have been able to rely on the pan size called for in the recipe. I want a loaf, not thick bars baked in a loaf pan. This was barely two inches tall! A word to the wise – either make a full recipe and make one, 9x5” loaf, or use smaller pans. Or make muffins. Or, since this bread was rather non-descript, choose one of the many, better zucchini bread recipes on this site. (And don’t make the same mistake I did – whatever size pan you choose to use, the pan should be 2/3 full with batter!) Note: If you still decide to try this recipe, add a teaspoon of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Robert likes this. I like it either warm, fresh from the oven or cold from the fridge with margerine on it. I have made several versions of this eg plain substituted sugared cherries chopped and walnuts I also added the dates to one and ground up flax seed in the coffee grinder and added about 1/3 cup. nice flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I was given a recipe by one of my co-workers who makes lovely zucchini bread. I took the recipe with me to the farmers market to get all of the ingredients and I lost the recipe in the store. I came on here to find a recipe that was similar to the one she gave me and this one most resembled the one I lost. This recipe was excellent. I added some coconut flakes and used real ginger because I had no ground ginger and it was great. This is a great recipe it wont let you down. P.S. If you have zucchini that has a lot of water be sure to squeeze the water out of it before adding it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Organic Nut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States