Grandma's Best Ever Sour Cream Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by sabbathsupper
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I've had a good lasagna recipe for the last year that calls for cottage cheese or ricotta. But most of the time I don't have these two ingredients on hand, so I really wanted to give this sour cream version a try. I followed the recipe pretty close, I only added more garlic. The verdict? My family loved it! I didn't tell them initially what diary product I used so they were quite astounded by the addition of sour cream. It is rather hard to tell sour cream apart from cottage cheese. Ricotta, on the other hand, has distinct characteristics that the other two cannot create. Anyway, the flavor was exceptional and I am extremely happy with the results. Since I always have sour cream in the fridge, lasagna will be made more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sabbathsupper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This was the first time I ever made lasagna. I tried this one because of the reviews and so glad I did it was great and easy..I was very successful in making this lasagna. Everyone raved about it and the pan was empty at the end of the event. Will make again. I'm so glad I doubled the recipe for a large size lasagna...next time I'll make two. I left out the salt and olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
It's a wonderful recipe, finished in only one seating ^_^ thanks so much for sharing... I never made Lasagna so I really wanted to try this out. I had to cut the ingredients to half coz I wasn't looking at the quantity I needed when buying the ingredients. Anyways, this recipe is very fitting for customization so don't fret so much. I also had to customize, I had no parsleys, I added italian seasoning instead (saw from another lasagna recipe). I also didn't have Pork Sausage, So I used Sweet pork longganisa (a philippine equivalent of chorizo). I added tomato paste too for a stronger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I've been searching for the perfect lasagne recipe, and this is it! Not watery, sliced perfectly, and looked beautiful. My family loved it.Very easy to make. I didn't have sausage so I used all ground beef, and it tasted fine. I added a little more cheese on top to make a good, thick layer. Definitely keeping this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I really like this one. Turned out great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This was the best lasagna ever! I did change it a bit though which is why I only gave it a 4. My changes are as follows: Sauté 1 finely chopped onion, 1 shallot, 3 cloves of garlic, 2 tsp oregano & 2 tsp basil, a handful of fresh chopped parsley and salt and pepper in 2 tlbs butter. When this started to sweat I added in 2 links of chopped up hot Italian sausage (I’d rather a piece of sausage then it crumbled up in my sauce) once this was cooked through maybe 4-5 minutes I added the ground beef & cooked until it was browned. I didn’t drain the meat. Then the diced tomato’s, the tomato sauce as well as ½ can tomato paste. I cooked on low for 2 hours. I also made some really small meatballs starting by frying them and finished cooking them in the sauce. For the cheese filling I used ½ container of sour cream & ½ container of cottage cheese, 1 egg, mixed in the parm & mozza and some S&P. Baked in a 350 oven for 45min (covered) then turned the oven up to 425 and cooked for another 10-15 minutes uncovered until it as brown as you like. Let sit for 15 minutes so the cheese can set. My hubby said it was the best he’s ever had!!! It was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Not only is this very tasty, it solved a huge problem for me ... my kids hate ricotta and I had pretty much given up serving lasagna at home. While this does not have a completely tradititional feeling, it is very good, and it's an easy lasagna to make as well. Like many of the other reviewers, the only change I make is to leave out the olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*Brandy Lee*~
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I found this when I promised my husband lasagna but then realized I had no ricotta! I used my own homemade Italian sausage sauce and did not use olives. The only part I did use of this recipe was the cheese mixture...Wow! So I am rating this entire recipe 5 stars because that alone is worthy. I have made this twice...once using regular extra wide noodles and once using no boil noodles. They both turned out delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I found this recipe in a panic because I did all my shopping and came home WITHOUT my ricotta or even some cottage cheese. I used the "Ingredients" feature on AR and came across this delicious recipe. I used my own sauce mix and subbed this sour cream mixture for the ricotta. It was a hit--and even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate U.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Awesome. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States