Grandma's Best Ever Sour Cream Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was the best lasagna I've ever made! Very delicious, the whole family enjoyed it. I love that there's no ricotta or cottage cheese. The only changes I made were to use garlic salt in place of salt (and I used less than called for) and all we had was lowfat sour cream (couldn't tell it was lowfat at all!). It was easy to make and came out perfect. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Yum! We all enjoyed this much better than the traditional ricotta cheese version. I made it as written but omitted the olives. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I will be making this again soon. I used non-fat greek yogurt rather than sour cream. My husband who loves sour cream didn't notice the change up. I also used the no boil noodles. It made for a very easy and quick meal. I made this in two 9x9 pans. I baked one and froze the other for a easy future dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This was great. LOVE the cheesy-ness. The only thing is that I think I need more tomato sauce. I used the oven ready lasagna noodles and I think those soaked up most of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Wonderful lasagne and don't have to buy ricotta!! Left out the olives and used soya burger, very good...added some fennel seeds cut up for some 'sausage ' flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Let me say this dish looks awful, but tastes GREAT. I'm used to making very pretty traditional Lasagnas but this one stood out. When I made this my husband said flat out this is how I want my lasagna from here on out. I thought maybe he was being nice but my mother in law came back and asked me for the recipe repeatedly. AS others have said i omit the olives (for my picky kids sake)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Safiya1107

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This recipe was excellent! I made it for my boyfriend and family and everyone loved it. I didn't boil the noodles I just soaked them in warm water. I also didn't use pork sausage and just used a pound of ground beef. I would absolutley recommend this recipe for others to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
First, I didn't follow this recipe exactly because I omitted olives because I don't like them much. I like ricotta and didn't have ricotta on-hand one day; and I was happy to find this recipe since I had sour cream on-hand. I was hesitant about the flavor and was pleasantly surprised at the result! My hubby really liked the lasagna too and was surprised that I used sour cream. One suggestion that I borrowed from a friend is to add thinly sliced carrots to the sour cream (or ricotta) mixture. Carrot adds a crunch, orange color interest and perhaps nutritional value to any lasagna. I also want to try small cuts of broccoli florets in the sour cream (or ricotta) mixture. This would sort of incorporate the feel of a veggie lasagna into a traditional meat recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura G

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sabbathsupper
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I've had a good lasagna recipe for the last year that calls for cottage cheese or ricotta. But most of the time I don't have these two ingredients on hand, so I really wanted to give this sour cream version a try. I followed the recipe pretty close, I only added more garlic. The verdict? My family loved it! I didn't tell them initially what diary product I used so they were quite astounded by the addition of sour cream. It is rather hard to tell sour cream apart from cottage cheese. Ricotta, on the other hand, has distinct characteristics that the other two cannot create. Anyway, the flavor was exceptional and I am extremely happy with the results. Since I always have sour cream in the fridge, lasagna will be made more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sabbathsupper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This was the first time I ever made lasagna. I tried this one because of the reviews and so glad I did it was great and easy..I was very successful in making this lasagna. Everyone raved about it and the pan was empty at the end of the event. Will make again. I'm so glad I doubled the recipe for a large size lasagna...next time I'll make two. I left out the salt and olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States