Grandma's Best Ever Sour Cream Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I was out of ricotta so I tried this recipe and my family loved it! I used Barilla basil and tomato sauce in a jar and even threw in a cup of leftover spaghetti sauce. I used parmesan from a package- finely shredded. I have a "scratch" lasagna recipe that I have used for years that my family liked but never have I had so many raves. Going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I am not a huge fan of ricotta so I tried this recipe out. The lasagna was very tasty and had tons of flavor! My boyfriend was skeptical about the sour cream but it was delicious. He ate almost half the entire dish! I followed the recipe to a T and the only suggestion I would make is boiling the pasta for a little while longer so that it is much softer and easier to cut with a fork when done. It does not quite taste like traditional lasagna, but it will definitely be making its way onto my dinner table again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
this was great! i did change it up some, i left out the olives and i used half sour cream half riccotta, and i also used a bigger can of tomato sauce and increased the amount of spices in the sauce. i put a lot more mozzerella in it when i made it for my brother, but i like the amount in the original recipe. i'll be keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Not really what you would expect from lasagna, but amazing. I made it tonight and was very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mRS.L
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This receipe is sooooooo good!! I do not care for ricotta cheese or cottage cheese so I have never found a lasagna that I liked until tonight. I did make a few changes to the receipe only due to the fact that I did not have all the indredients on hand. Instead of making the sauce I used a sausage onion spaghetti sauce that I had in the panty (it had chunks of tomato, onion, and sausage in it). I also used a 'hot' pork sausage. After the first bite my husband and i are hooked. I will be making this dish again and again!!! Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mRS.L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I have made this recipe several times and love it! I follow the recipe exactly except I omit the olives (although I would like them, my family wouldn't) and use fresh basil when I have it. This is the best lasagna recipe I have made, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Not only is this very tasty, it solved a huge problem for me ... my kids hate ricotta and I had pretty much given up serving lasagna at home. While this does not have a completely tradititional feeling, it is very good, and it's an easy lasagna to make as well. Like many of the other reviewers, the only change I make is to leave out the olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*Brandy Lee*~
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I found this when I promised my husband lasagna but then realized I had no ricotta! I used my own homemade Italian sausage sauce and did not use olives. The only part I did use of this recipe was the cheese mixture...Wow! So I am rating this entire recipe 5 stars because that alone is worthy. I have made this twice...once using regular extra wide noodles and once using no boil noodles. They both turned out delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Very good! My husband does not like Ricotta Cheese, so this was perfect. I plan to omit the salt next time; it was not needed. I also used no-boil noodles and it came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This was pretty good, but still didn't have that "something" that I've been looking for. I found the sauce to be very bland, even after adding more spices to it. I can say, though, that the sour cream was very good and both my hubby and I were quite pleased with that. I just need to find that really good spaghetti sauce recipe and this would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States