Grandma's Best Ever Sour Cream Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This was the best lasagna ever! I did change it a bit though which is why I only gave it a 4. My changes are as follows: Sauté 1 finely chopped onion, 1 shallot, 3 cloves of garlic, 2 tsp oregano & 2 tsp basil, a handful of fresh chopped parsley and salt and pepper in 2 tlbs butter. When this started to sweat I added in 2 links of chopped up hot Italian sausage (I’d rather a piece of sausage then it crumbled up in my sauce) once this was cooked through maybe 4-5 minutes I added the ground beef & cooked until it was browned. I didn’t drain the meat. Then the diced tomato’s, the tomato sauce as well as ½ can tomato paste. I cooked on low for 2 hours. I also made some really small meatballs starting by frying them and finished cooking them in the sauce. For the cheese filling I used ½ container of sour cream & ½ container of cottage cheese, 1 egg, mixed in the parm & mozza and some S&P. Baked in a 350 oven for 45min (covered) then turned the oven up to 425 and cooked for another 10-15 minutes uncovered until it as brown as you like. Let sit for 15 minutes so the cheese can set. My hubby said it was the best he’s ever had!!! It was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Not only is this very tasty, it solved a huge problem for me ... my kids hate ricotta and I had pretty much given up serving lasagna at home. While this does not have a completely tradititional feeling, it is very good, and it's an easy lasagna to make as well. Like many of the other reviewers, the only change I make is to leave out the olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*Brandy Lee*~
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I found this when I promised my husband lasagna but then realized I had no ricotta! I used my own homemade Italian sausage sauce and did not use olives. The only part I did use of this recipe was the cheese mixture...Wow! So I am rating this entire recipe 5 stars because that alone is worthy. I have made this twice...once using regular extra wide noodles and once using no boil noodles. They both turned out delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I found this recipe in a panic because I did all my shopping and came home WITHOUT my ricotta or even some cottage cheese. I used the "Ingredients" feature on AR and came across this delicious recipe. I used my own sauce mix and subbed this sour cream mixture for the ricotta. It was a hit--and even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate U.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Awesome. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
My whole family LOVED this recipe! Even my mother in law! I used no-cook noodles and an Italian cheese blend. I think that cheese with the 3/4 cup parmesan made it a little too salty, my own fault. Next time I will use regular mozzarella. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made this lasagna with fire roasted diced tomatos, 1 medium spanish onion, 8 cloves of garlic and a dash of worcestershire sauce. My wife and I consumed the entire pan in 3 days. A simple and fantastic recipe, thank you for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS RECIPE! MY SISTER HAD SEEN IT MADE IT, AND PASSED IT ALONG TO ME. SHE TWEEKED IT A LITTLE, ONLY BECAUSE SHE WAS SHORT ON SOUR CREAM, SO INSTEAD SHE ADDED 1/2 SOUR CREAM AND 1/2 COTTAGE CHEESE. ALSO WE USED THE NO COOK LASAGNA. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR SHARING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Mmmmm mmmm goooood!!! I didnt use the olives and also instead of beef and pork I used 1 pound of turkey ground meat and it was wondrful. I think next time I am going to add a little more meat though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is the best lasagna I have every tasted. We used stewed tomatoes and it worked great I strained the tomato mitxure as I layered it together. This was super easy to make it didn't take as long as they said it would. I remember having lasagna once from a restuarant that was amazing and I think this was their recipe, it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States