Grandma's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This banana bread is WAY to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Very dense
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This was a hit at my home! Have made it several times. Always turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
It was different. I did like it, it was sweet!! The amount of sugar added a crisp coating. It paired nicely with a cup of coffee or tea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Best banana bread recipe. Super moist, I make smaller loaves so I can share with family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mickie Jo
Home Town: Easton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Love this recipe. Very easy to make and it also disappears before I can put it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This is the BEST banana bread I've eaten. Very moist with a lot of banana flavor! I added a little extra vanilla and 1-2 additional bananas. I didn't mash the bananas completely. I left some large banana chunks. I cooked it in a larger glass pan for about 70 minutes. My kids devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This recipe was just what I was looking for! My grandma used to make one almost just like this, except she used milk soured with vinegar (which I noticed several reviewers did too). I cut the sugar down to 2 cups as 3 seemed like too much and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I used this as a base recipe...and will begin tweaking it. I wanted a banana bread recipe that bakes up as a 'moist brick'. That may sound strange, but it accurately reflects my memory of the *best d*mned banana bread I ever ate*. I used buttermilk in place of milk. I cut down the sugar. I added old fashioned/rolled oats in place of half the flour...which added an extra texture. Not sure what I think of that. Will either downgrade to quick oats - or omit altogether in place of the original amount of flour (I made a half recipe and baked it in a loaf pan). I love the results for a first run. It resulted in that 'basic brick' super-moist loaf of quick bread. Looking forward to tweaking this into my 'go to' banana bread. PS -- my bananas (all 3) were pitiful. I had maybe one cup of mashed banana total for the half recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Awesome! Really nice fresh banana taste. Very moist and when it was fresh had a very nice crisp top (after 1st day got a little mushy but still tasted great). The only changes I made were that I halved the recipe and made in a 9x9 glass pan and used butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States