Grandma's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I've made this recipe several times, in the 9x13 pan, soooo good, and in 3x loaf pans. Sometimes I add as little as 1 cup sugar and it works out. If you want store bought banana bread sweetness the full 3 cups is perfect. I add nuts and cranberries to one of the loaves and it's delicious. Also, we don't buy milk so I almost always use a milk substitute and it's most often cashew, but we've tried with almond, coconut and soy with great results too! I love this recipe, and other than the reduction of sugar and milk, I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I did not change a thing! Followed the recipe exactly. I loved it and my family loved it! Great banana flavor and oh so moist! I will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This banana bread is WAY to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Very dense
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This was a hit at my home! Have made it several times. Always turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
It was different. I did like it, it was sweet!! The amount of sugar added a crisp coating. It paired nicely with a cup of coffee or tea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Best banana bread recipe. Super moist, I make smaller loaves so I can share with family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mickie Jo
Home Town: Easton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Love this recipe. Very easy to make and it also disappears before I can put it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This is the BEST banana bread I've eaten. Very moist with a lot of banana flavor! I added a little extra vanilla and 1-2 additional bananas. I didn't mash the bananas completely. I left some large banana chunks. I cooked it in a larger glass pan for about 70 minutes. My kids devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This recipe was just what I was looking for! My grandma used to make one almost just like this, except she used milk soured with vinegar (which I noticed several reviewers did too). I cut the sugar down to 2 cups as 3 seemed like too much and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States