Grandma's Baking Powder Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Excellent biscuits, almost the same as our old recipe that was on here but now gone. Only difference was this has 4 tsp. baking powder, the old one had 3 tsp. Both are super good right out of the oven, or left over..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I used butter instead of shortening, didn't use cream of tartar, added an extra tablespoon of sugar, and I love them! I'll try the recipe as is the next time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
My go to biscuit recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waterproof, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I made these biscuits for a Mother's Day brunch and served them with sausage gravy. O-M-G were they ever great. Only change I made was following other reviews, I made them with butter instead of shortening. They were so light and fluffy! Great with butter and jam too! I highly recommend these for anything - breakfast, lunch or dinner! (I dropped them rather than cutting them out.) This one will be used OFTEN!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I love the flavor of this biscuit. It is one of the best tasting I've made. However, it is very dry. The texture is so crumbly, you can't cut it, and you can't butter it. I ended up dropping a teaspoon of butter and jelly on top and ate it like a piece of cake, with a fork. No way you're going to make a biscuit sandwich with these, which is too bad because they are delicious tasting! I suspect this is in the nature of the drop type biscuit as opposed to the rolled and cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc Simonson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Simple recipe, delicious results. The cream of tartar is not necessary. I also prefer to use real butter over shortening. Rather than drop the dough onto sheet, I prefer to spread it out with my hands onto my baking sheet and score lightly so I can break them apart or cut with a knife. I like my biscuits with more flavor so I typically add grated cheese to them. I also added chopped jalapeno on this occasion which went fantastic with my home made spaghetti sauce! Thank you for this recipe! I always used to think that the only way to make great biscuits was with buttermilk but this recipe proves me wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kamsack, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I did not add the shortening, just ignored that...I try to avoid adding fat if I can. They are a bit dry, but I made them for a chicken and dumpling type meal, so it should be ok. Otherwise kept the recipe the same, only cooked for 8 min, longer and the bottoms would have burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I followed this recipe to the tee I found it to be dry and lacking in flavor I did not like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
A very delicious dish, serve with a nice salad and some crusty bread and garlic butter, ENJOY IT. P.S. I forget a nice red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States