Grandma's Baked Rice Pudding with Meringue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
delicious! the only rice pudding i will eat and it is my son's favorite. i did not do the meringue or raisons. i did add a generous dash of cinnamon. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen73076

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryson City, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Blountville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This is a great recipe...but...I don't get the meringue. I feel like such a traitor! I am a meringue enthusiast, I am! BUT in this recipe it just seemed so out of place. I felt like I was having two separate desserts together and missing the lemon filling or something. Next time I'll skip the meringue or maybe just make a pie if I'm in such a mood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOULEC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I've been making rice pudding this way for years - I sometimes omit the raisins and put a thin layer of raspberry jam on top of the pudding before putting on the meringue - it really is quite good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Just like my grandma used to make. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
it was too sweet for me so i added more milk and it turned out good. i guess im just used to my moms traditional rice pudding.. /:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbqqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is very good,not to sweet not to gooey, just right wait I sound like Goldie locks! anyways it's " GRREEAAT" now I sound like Tony the tiger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This was the best I ever tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I MADE THIS WITHOUT THE MERINGUE AND I HAVE TO SAY, IT IS THE BEST RICE PUDDING THAT I HAVE EVER HAD! TWO OF MY FRIENDS HAVE ALSO TRIED IT WHEN THEY HAVE COME OVER, AND THHEY AGREE WITH ME. I HAVE LUPPUS AND AM VERY SICK, SO I CAN'T EAT VERY MANY THINGS, BECAUSE OF MY ILLNESS. THIS HOWEVER, HAS BEEN A LIFE-SAVER. I HAVE MADE IT THREE TIMES IN THE LAST TWO WEEKS, AND IT HAS KEPT MY WEIGHT AROUND 92 LBS. THANK YOU FOR SUCH A WONDERFUL RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Pretty good, I think that it needed a little more lemon juice. It took way too long to cook, but the effort was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ Food!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States