Grandma's Apples and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
9-5-11: This tasted OK, was good with vanilla yogurt, but was very heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
GREAT breakfast rice. I love that it used brown rice. Even my husband who usually only will eat oatmeal loved it. I used homemade chunky organic applesauce and I eliminated most of the brown sugar, only adding just a little to each bowl before adding the milk over the top. I'd like to try this with dried fruit next time, like raisins or Craisins. I'd also like to play with this and make it less time consuming to make. There's got to be an easier way. I think using leftover cooked brown rice would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
We loved this. Since I was serving this with a meal and didn't want it to taste too dessert-like, I only used half the sugar. I also cut the butter in half to cut down on the calories and didn't miss it at all. This is a really versatile dish. It makes a great side (especially to pork chops), it would make a good breakfast and if you make as written, it'd be a good dessert too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
It's definitely more of a dessert and I omitted the fresh apple because I didn't have time to cut it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Absolutely delicious. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Interesting combination. Not bad, but had a little too much butter and was a little bland. Is 4 tbls butter really necessary? Next time I'll use way less butter and a little more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
tastes great! made so much. loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrappinkm

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
This was so delicious. I made it for a dessert to a potluck dinner party and ppl were fighting over the last pieces. Ok, so those people were my husband and I lol. Next time I will make it cinnamon sugar that I add to the mix and sprinkle on top to make it just a tad bit sweeter, but as is it is still a HUGELY delicious recipe. A good "not TOO sweet" dessert or good for breakfast even.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States