Grandma's Apple Pie 'Ala Mode' Moonshine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I gave most of my batch away and everyone loves this stuff. I have a little stash of my own but haven't had a chance to taste it. I may have to change this review once I actually get to have some of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Made it last night for a family campfire. Had it in a slow cooker with sugar and spices sans alcohol about 4 hrs, then served kids first, added more cider, then the alcohol (whipped cream vodka sub for vanilla vodka). It was a huge hit with all ages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Just made this today 12/23/2013, and this is some good stuff. Will be gifting a few jars to some friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I added an extra cup of moonshine. It'll put hair on your chest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeenesse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Delicious! Skipped the vodka and added extra everclear and a little bit of vanilla extract instead. Because I live in California- had to use 151 proof as they don't sell 190.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Wow, the flavor is awesome!!! I used less alcohol than what it called for, but imagine if I did. I kinda ran out because I made another apple pie moonshine from this site. I don't mind it being strong; I'm just making this as xmas gifts for my dad and father-in-law and wanted the alcohol to be subtle. I found some good and cheap apple juice and unfiltered one from Trader Joes. Get both the organic ones if you decide to go there. The only thing I left out was the clove. Also, here in California, we're only able to purchase 151 proof. I'm going to age this for a week or two then I'll give an update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Delicious! Substituted 1 tsp allspice for the clove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
just made this last night! yummy!! doubled the recipe and it filled 24 mason jars perfectly! Made for Christmas gifts this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Good flavor especially with the addition of whipped vodka. I used a gallon each of cider and apple juice to cut the strength. It was a bit strong to me going by the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Apple Pie 'Ala Mode' Moonshine

Make your own ’shine! It tastes remarkably like apple pie.

Beast Mode Vodka

This colorful vodka cocktail is worth 12 stars. Go Hawks!

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States