Grandma's Apple Pie 'Ala Mode' Moonshine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Just made this today 12/23/2013, and this is some good stuff. Will be gifting a few jars to some friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I added an extra cup of moonshine. It'll put hair on your chest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeenesse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Delicious! Skipped the vodka and added extra everclear and a little bit of vanilla extract instead. Because I live in California- had to use 151 proof as they don't sell 190.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Wow, the flavor is awesome!!! I used less alcohol than what it called for, but imagine if I did. I kinda ran out because I made another apple pie moonshine from this site. I don't mind it being strong; I'm just making this as xmas gifts for my dad and father-in-law and wanted the alcohol to be subtle. I found some good and cheap apple juice and unfiltered one from Trader Joes. Get both the organic ones if you decide to go there. The only thing I left out was the clove. Also, here in California, we're only able to purchase 151 proof. I'm going to age this for a week or two then I'll give an update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Delicious! Substituted 1 tsp allspice for the clove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
just made this last night! yummy!! doubled the recipe and it filled 24 mason jars perfectly! Made for Christmas gifts this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Good flavor especially with the addition of whipped vodka. I used a gallon each of cider and apple juice to cut the strength. It was a bit strong to me going by the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
So excited to start this until I realized I had to go out of state to get the grain alcohol. After finally getting it from a friend that was traveling, I got to work. Just the smell of the cider and juice with the sugar fixture is awesome! I added more cloves than it called for because I wanted one in each bottle. I doubled the recipe to get 12 bottles. I also used half a vanilla bean for extra flavor. Hot dog...what a fun Christmas gift! Something totally out of the ordinary and GREAT tasting too. I don't think you can really go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
wonderful; made 6 qt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Apple Pie 'Ala Mode' Moonshine

Make your own ’shine! It tastes remarkably like apple pie.

Beast Mode Vodka

This colorful vodka cocktail is worth 12 stars. Go Hawks!

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States