Grandma's Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by barron_alexandria
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I changed this into a peach dumpling recipe. I used one can of sliced peaches in 100% juice from Walmart. Placed 1-2 slices per roll. No OJ just the juice from the peaches. Boiled that with the butter and sugar and added the cinnamon with the mixture when the vanilla was added. Poured over the rolls and sprinkled brown sugar and cinnamon. Covered with aluminum foil for the first 20 min and cooked for 7 min without. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Wonderful dessert! If you don't have orange juice, you can use a can of sprite. I also add chopped pecans on top! It's delicious with vanilla ice cream! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Johnson N Johnson
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
So delish....first time making this and it came out great . I read several reviews before cooking it and decided to do 1/2 orange juice with half cranberry. Only wish they had a video because you really don't know how much of the mixture to pour in but I did it half way and that was fine...so good luck future apple dumpling lovers. A recipe to keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnson N Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Very tasty and so simple. Followed recipe as written, I was a little short on sugar but it didn't seem to matter. I had extra apple so I just added to dish next to wrapped pasty and they just cooked in the juices and were delicious. I topped with non-fat Cool Whip - it was great. This is a recipe I will make again and do recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This is my new go-to recipe for apple dumplings. I have tried the recipes where the liquid is 7up or Mt. Dew and loved them. This is better! Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Hot Cook
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Everyone loved these dumplings! After reading some comments, I used a tiny bit less sugar and butter and it was perfect. I also covered the dish the first 20 mins of cooking and 10mins uncovered. This allowed the apples to get tender and the cresent rolls would cook to fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I didn't have any orange juice so I used apple juice instead. It was delicious! I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Hubby LOVES these! Orange juice makes these absolutely delectable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Fixed this numerous, numerous times & it always turns out to be absolutely perfect. The only thing I did differently was add the cinnamon to my sauce mixture & sprinkled apple pie spice on top before baking. The sauce is way too yummy - gonna experiment with the sauce using some apple cider with the OJ - fixing the crescent rolls with some butter & cinnamon sugar - then pour the hot sauce over the crescents & bake. My 4 yr old granddaughter loves, loves the sweet crust (as does most everybody else)but she gives me her baked apple in exchange for my crust. I'll be back to tell how the experiment goes. Could this be called "GRAM'S APPLESS DUMPLING"? Thanks for all the wonderful recipes ---- DianneP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rossville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States