Grandma's Apple Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by B. Maitreya
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
These were absolutely delicious! The apple and dates combo worked very well. I doubled the spices because we like 'em really spicy, halved the brown sugar and added 1/3c honey and they were plenty sweet, moist and flavorful. These just may be my new favorite cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Cookies were tasty and moist but didn't hold together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
These were very yummy and a good way to use our fresh picked apples. I made them in bar form. The only issue I had was the bars came out VERY thin in my 13x18" half sheet pan. I did not use any dates or walnuts, but did add about 2 cups of apples instead. I also was out of ground cloves which I think would have added another layer of taste to these bars. I frosted them with a homemade caramel cream cheese frosting and the kids ate them up. Will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
This recipe was okay, but I wouldn't make it again. I did it in bar form, and the consistency was more like cake than cookies. The taste was fine, but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMURKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
DELICIOUS !!! I didn't use the dates or walnuts and instead used 2 cups of apple. VERY moist. Yummy with a light sour cream icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2001
Took to a reception and they were a hit! Excellent cookie, especially with the dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2000
i think this recipe is delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2000
Moist and good keepers(if you hide them!). Substituted raisins for the dates. For a quick way to dress them up, if you don't have time to make frosting, simply shake cinnamon sugar over the cookies before putting them in the oven. Can't keep these around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States