Grandma's Apple Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I added an extra cup of apple, did away with the nuts and dates, and substituted the spices for two teaspoons of allspice. It turned out really nicely! Really soft, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I do like these. Make sure not to use too much apple or they will be very moist and will fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This cookie is amazing!!! They taste like a pumpkin cookie with the twist of apples... Definitely my new favorite cookie. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Noelle
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I took out the shortening and used a butter substitute instead. I also exchanged dried blueberries and Craisins for the dates. When they had just come out of the oven my husband didn't think he'd like them, so I make a buttercream almond frosting. I stuck them all in the fridge to get the frosting hardened up. They are DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I put 2 cups of apples in cause we had a whole bunch to use up that we picked about two weeks ago. I also added about a cup of chocolate chips and skipped the nuts and dates all together. I put it in the conventional oven and its taking longer than 10 minutes to bake, I think it's just my oven thats the problem, but they sure smell good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chucles70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I made this in bar form and instead of using dates & raisins I used dried cranberries and white chocolate chips. The consistency is more like a cake than a cookie. They were very moist. I think if I made it again I'd use real butter instead of shortening and maybe more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacedcowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Yummmmm!!!! Perfect to make when you have lots of apples from your apple tree....I subbed an additional cup of apples instead of the dates and frosted with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
These tasted good - but didn't hold together nicely. I don't think I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
great caky cookie. I did the drop cookies and you really only need 1/2t to make each one. I didn't have nutmeg so I adjusted the cinnamon to 1 1/2 t. The 1st batch was too big and ran together a bit. I also skip the icing they're great the way they are
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
People really seemed to like these, I wasn't a huge fan. They were kind of cakelike and moist. But they tasted good. Maybe I'll have to try them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States