Grandma VanDoren's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
This bread was delicious. There are only two of us so three loaves was to much. I cut the dough in thirds like the recipe says and used two for bread, and the third for pizza dough. I spread it out on a pan greased lightly with shortening, and let it rest for about fifteen minutes. I put my toppings on and baked it for 30 min. at 375F or till the crust was browned. It was awesome. Definately use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
Very easy to make and the results are superb, soft and light yet substantial. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2000
this was very tastey and well liked by my family. I used All-purpose flour and the bread turned out well. Next time I'll try the bread flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
My Dear...thank you for sharing your family's recipe....it was EXCELLENT!!!.... I was so excited ..... I made bread...that looked & tasted like bread...FOR ONCE! I baked one loaf (divided the recipe by a third) Just before putting it in the oven I brushed the top with egg wash (1 egg + 2tbsp water - beaten).......thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
I just got back into bread baking and have played around with a variety of recipes over the last couple months, and this is the one that does the best job, consistently so. Good, crusty bread, freezes great, and very hard to mess up. The touch of sugar makes the difference, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2001
I have been baking bread for more than 20 years and I can honestly say that this is the most wonderful bread I have ever made. It doesn't take a high level of culinary skill but will taste like it does. I thank your grandma!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakmont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Venetia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
This is a great bread.Everytime i make it my family loves it. its easy to make to,comes out great everytime Thanks Jerry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
Wonderful recipe! I'm a novice baker, however, this recipe was easy and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jsikes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alleene, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
This recipe yields three good sized loaves of bread. I have been modifying the recipe to about 50-50 white bread flour and whole wheat flour. It is excellent. I rated the kid friendly portion a little lower since I don't think they would have the patience for bread making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2000
this was the one recipe that everyone in our house enjoyed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States