Grandma VanDoren's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
Great recipe. I made it like Grandma Van Doren probably did, using regular flour, because I'm sure "bread flour" did not exist when Grandma was feeding her hungry family. Hint: Double the yeast to halve the rising time. It's a real time saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
403 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ahensnest
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Oh My!! This is a very good recipe. I love to bake bread and hate it when it comes out dense, not so with this one! Nice and light dough, soft chewy crust! I ended up using 4 packets of Rapid Rise Yeast because that's all I had. All purpose flour worked fine as well. I let it rise for an hour in between each step and the cinnamon rolls rose an extra 35 minutes while the bread baked. Made 2 nice loaves and a big batch of 18 cinnamon rolls with cream cheese icing. YUM! We ate a whole loaf with Peasant soup for dinner and had a cinnamon roll for dessert! I am so full! Nice tangy taste and wonderful texture, don't miss out TRY IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
290 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahensnest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Yummy bread and so easy in a mixer. I like to put the loaves in disposable bread pans and throw them in the freezer before they rise. Then I can have home baked bread any day I want. Just leave the frozen dough out on the counter in the morning to rise all day and bake it in the evening. This Bread tastes good with everything, but be careful, it goes quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
This is an update for my review. I did finally make it right and this is a wonderful recipe just as is. But if you add 3tbl of gluten flour, a tablespoon of vitamin c and an egg, they act as preservatives and keep the bread soft and fresh for longer than a week. I never buy bread anymore, and the daycare kids LOVE this recipe. I did just about everything wrong with this and it still is the best bread recipe I've ever made. I didn't let it set a sponge, I added 1/4 cup oil (reading too fast) didn't let it rise until double and it made the BEST ever cinnamon rolls and pizza. This is fool proof, as I have proven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
This bread was delicious. There are only two of us so three loaves was to much. I cut the dough in thirds like the recipe says and used two for bread, and the third for pizza dough. I spread it out on a pan greased lightly with shortening, and let it rest for about fifteen minutes. I put my toppings on and baked it for 30 min. at 375F or till the crust was browned. It was awesome. Definately use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
This is a delicious bread, but the best part about it is how fast and easy it is. It rises so quickly - I got up early this morning to make this for a work lunch party and could have slept in another hour - start to finish takes about 2 1/2 hours. I use regular all-purpose flour and butter the loaves before and after baking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCheese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Absolutely incredible! We make this in the bread machine with the dough setting and it disappears within an hour out of pulling it out of the oven. We generally only make a third of the recipe so it fits in the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
My Dear...thank you for sharing your family's recipe....it was EXCELLENT!!!.... I was so excited ..... I made bread...that looked & tasted like bread...FOR ONCE! I baked one loaf (divided the recipe by a third) Just before putting it in the oven I brushed the top with egg wash (1 egg + 2tbsp water - beaten).......thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I used this recipe and made 2 big loafs, and 6 mini loafs of bread. I also adapted it, and added cheese & seasonings. No matter which way you bake it, its good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Washington, USA
Living In: Centralia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
I just got back into bread baking and have played around with a variety of recipes over the last couple months, and this is the one that does the best job, consistently so. Good, crusty bread, freezes great, and very hard to mess up. The touch of sugar makes the difference, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 641) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States