Grandma VanDoren's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Oh my goodness! You cannot believe how incredibly delicious this bread is. I was a little nervous making this, because I am a novice bread maker. I cut the recipe down to a third, because the only yeast I had on hand was one packet of quick rise yeast. I used unbleached AP flour and canola oil. I used my stand mixer to knead the dough and let it rise in the mixing bowl. I covered the loaf for the last 7 minutes (cooked for 35 minutes total) and slathered the top in butter when it came out of the over. It was absolutely divine! I will not look elsewhere for a white bread recipe. It cannot get any better than this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenni G.
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Great recipe!!! The only addition I made was a slight egg wash brushed on top before baking. My picky husband said it's the best homemade bread he's ever had. And my even pickier 6 year old begged to have her sandwiches for school made from it and told me to leave the crust on!!! She NEVER eats crust!! So a win, win, win recipe! Happy hubby! Happy kids! Happy mom!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I'm still a beginner with making my own bread, but this recipe was still easy to follow. I've been making baguettes lately and wanted to make something to use for my sons sandwiches. This bread was exactly what I was looking for! I increased the yeast to 4 1/2 tablespoons trying to speed up the rising time (which seemed to work) and I used regular all-purpose white flour. I love the fluffy texture of this bread. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenlikescows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
First off, I am no baker by any stretch of the imagination, nor cook for that matter. I do enjoy trying new recipes but not very often. What brought this recipe to light, I have no idea, but I am thrilled beyond words. I first was captured by the picture that remarkably looked just like what Grandma used to make. This is a feat in itself with 4000 +/- bread recipes online. I made the recipe the first time and overlooked letting it rise a second time, (remember... not a baker) I still loved the loaf, even though it was dense, the flavor and texture took me back 40 years. I nearly cried, no kidding. I couldn't wait to make the next batch and today was the day. (08-23-14) Unbelievable!!!! No reason on God's green earth to ever have store bought bread in the house. Tell me why we settled for anything less?? I tried to upload photo but haven't enough megapixels...whatever! I encourage everyone to give this a try. Thanks a million for sharing "Grandma Vandoren's" recipe. God Bless, Shalom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Gerity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swanton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This is the easiest bread I have ever made! I have a huge household so I usually double the recipe on baking day and freeze uncooked dough (shaped in a loaf or rolls) for the following week. I've found in my area that I don't quite need all 8 cups of flour, depending on the humidity. I usually add 2 cups (after the yeast mixture has doubled), then add 1/2 cup at a time. Never a dense loaf yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbi LeMay West

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
A bit dry, and the directions for this bread would be very difficult for a novice bread-baker. Whenever the directions indicate to let the sponge or bread rise, I heated up my oven to 350 and then turned it off and opened the oven door, slipping the bowl of sponge or bread loaves onto the rack and letting rise for about 30 mins. Perfect results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This recipe is an old one from the MI hillbilly's and its a good one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I've tried a lot of bread recipes with varying degrees of success but this was hands down the best recipe I have tried. Very tender yet chewy crust and soft center. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I love this recipe!! I also like to cut the ingredients in half To make pizza dough. I have 5 boys and 1girl and they all love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Absolutely delicious bread. Much softer and fluffier than a lot of bread recipes that I've tried recently. Very light and airy, with a fantastic flavor. I used regular all-purpose flour instead of bread flour, but I'd love to give it a try with bread flour, too. I usually make two loaves of bread, then throw the rest into the fridge to make pizzas with later. This is now my go-to white bread recipe. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Gatley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 677) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States