Grandma VanDoren's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
great recipe! used regular whole wheat flour and the reaukt was excellent. will make my own bread now. later will try adding seeds or raisins for variations. very easy to make and great taste, ain't grandma's cooking the best!! thanksnfor the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Actually really easy with a KitchenAide. I follow the recipe exactly but for baking only had mini loaf pans. Made 4mini loaves, a pan of cinnamon rolls and froze enough dough to make 3 more mini loaves later out of 1 recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Thank you for sharing this!!! I've been making bread for years but this was the best I've made. My 7 yr old was wanting to make bread like they did in "pioneer" days and I didn't want to figure that out so we gave this a try. WOW I am so glad we did. The only negative thing I have to say about this is that it completely ruined my diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
The perfect white bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Great texture, light and fluffy, not dense at all. A little bland but still very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I've used this recipe a number of times and love it. I start the yeast in the water & sugar first before continuing with the recipe, and I always need a lot more flour than the recipe calls for. I don't even think you can start kneading it until you have at least 9 (closer to 10) cups of flour in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Tried this recipe for the first time after trying a few others, and this is by far the best. I cooked the loaves a little longer than suggested and it improved the colour, crust, taste and texture. It's the only recipe I will now use. The flour used can be a mix of all purpose, strong white and wholemeal in any combination you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Freaking awesome bread. Seriously folks, stop thinking about making this bread and just do it. I was looking for a recipe that would come close to the bread I had when visiting my relatives on their farm in Northern Michigan and this nailed it. Just to put this in perspective, I made this bread in 90 degree weather with 85% humidity, left it to rise too long TWICE...AND baked in a silly toaster oven. (no one has an oven in the Carribean darlink) It still came out fabulous. Thank you to the person who posted this, I love you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Crockett, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I have been searching high and low, literally for years, for a light and airy bread recipe. This is it. There is one review that indicates the dough was watery - this has to be user error. As I approached my final cup of flour, I just added a little at a time so not to make the dough to dry. I can't see how 8 cups of flour to 3 cups of water could come out watery?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buggaboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I went ahead and ended up using 6 cups flour before my first rise, and added a bit more before it's second rise. Seems to have worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States