Grandma VanDoren's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This is a great recipe. I had to cut it in half so my kitchenaid mixer could handle it and also because we can only eat one loaf of bread before it goes bad. I also cut the sugar down to a tablespoon because I don't like it so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I was new at all this when I first made this, and I followed the recipe It was great!!!!!this is my go to bread recipe,( I do this by hand, I don't own a bread machine) and it's still easy and fast, love,love,love!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SophieLMH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Im only 15 years old, i love baking!! Ever since i made this bread last year for thanksgiving, my mom wont buy a loaf of bread from the store, she asks me to make it, i love this recipe!!!!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I've been looking for the perfect bread recipe and I think I've found it! Nice crust, great crumb and awesome flavor. I made a full batch and did 2 loaves and one batch of cinnamon rolls. This is now my go-to bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I used this dough to make cinnamon rolls, cutting the recipe in half to get 18 small-ish buns. I used regular old AP flour and subbed melted butter for the veg oil as I never use veg oil in anything. The dough was a dream to work with, rose quickly and tasted fabulous. I started making the rolls at 7:30 and they were ready to bake by 9:30. I can't wait to make loaves of bread with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I made this today, it's actually the first time I made bread and it came out perfectly and soft. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
The recipe is great, but I am having a hard time getting the dough fluffy...any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Ok..I thought I had found the perfect bread/roll recipe a few weeks ago on here but I was so wrong! THIS is the perfect bread/roll recipe! Hands down! I made as is...except that I made 2 loaves of bread and a pan of 8 HUGE cinnamon rolls. Turned out very light, very moist...the bread AND rolls...I will not be going back to the other recipe. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Best white bread recipe ever! You go Grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This is our go to bread recipe - not that we had tried others before. We beke 2 loaves, and use the remainder of the dought to make cinnamon rolls, or pizza crust. Recipe seemed so easy to follow that it inspired me to try. I am not a good cook/baker, but I always find easy, good recipes on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 627) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States