Grandma VanDoren's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by slmerk
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
LOVE this bread, this is the second time I made it and I tried rolling a cinnamon & sugar mixture into one loaf, it didn't work out like I wanted, next time I'll use butter with it. Will definitely keep using this for my go to bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I did this receipe a couple of times, and I really like for breakfast as it is a sweet bred. I don`t use dry yeast but frexh one as it is much better. 30g of fresh yeast for 8 cups of flour. I think it is important to put the salt as last ingredient as salt may kill the yeast if enter in direct contact. If your dough didn`t rise That may be the reason for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Best bread recipe. Every time I've made bread, whether I use a bread machine or the normal way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Loved this bread. Loved making it in the bosch universal.....BEST BREAD IVE EVER MADE FOR THE FAMILY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I can't believe I actually made bread! This is a great recipe for first-timers. I'm pretty sure I messed up several times, and it still turned out really well. I love the lightness of this bread. I had to be pretty gentle while slicing it and I don't know yet how well it will hold up for things like grilled cheese or french toast, but I think that's in part due to my poor kneading technique. I found the accompanying video to be extremely helpful as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by falkirkscottie
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly except for halving the sugar added. I made two loaves and eight rolls. Lovely bread to go with my home made strawberry jam for supper. Love it! Had to stop myself from guzzling the lot in one go !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by falkirkscottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Delicious bread that doesn't crumble when you make sandwiches! The best for toast! I used 1teaspoon less salt. 3seemed like a lot for me. Good crumb texture. Making more today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muqum
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
It's a great recipe. I just reduced the yeast to 2 table spoon and it turned out same fluffy. First time when I made it I felt very strong smell of yeast. Other then that it's a great bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I'm not sure how long I'm supposed to wait for the do to rise. Its been a couple hours and I thought it would rise by now. I'm wondering if I did something wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 632) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States