Grandma VanDoren's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
wonderfully good recipe. ... it's a keeper made exactly as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Very easy and very soft bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I have tried a lot of bread recipes looking for that perfect texture, and this is it. I used coconut oil and only 1.5 tablespoons of yeast and it turned out perfect (I had reduced the recipe to make two loaves).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by neutle2
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This is so easy to make and was delicious. Didn't change a think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
First time I succeed in making bread and it's the best bread I ever have! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by @!nUm!ThU
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Awesome recipe best ever tried .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
It wasn't the simplest recipe, I wasn't completely satisfied with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WrennWillard
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I make it just as it says. So easy, and turns out perfect everytime. I love that it makes three loaves so I can always give one away. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yojalma
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This bread came out to pure perfection. I used two 9x5 pan (I think, I may be off by half inch). This is my first time making any type of bread! I'm glad I chose the right recipe. I did not change a this. Also I wanted to add that I made it all in my Kitchen Aid stand mixer with the mixing blade first to mix the wet ingredients with the 4 cups of bread flour and the rest it calls for. After I let it rise I used the dough hook to mix the last 4 cups of flour. The dough was sticky but I did not add anything else, I just used oil on my hands to prevent it from sticking. My husband is so excited since he takes a sandwich to work daily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yojalma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I halved the recipe, dumped it all in the bread machine on Med. white and it was WONDERFUL. I had no idea what a sponge was, so ignored that step. (Afterwards re-read and figured it out, but this was a winner all on its own.) Bless our ancestors for passing recipes like these down... the wonderful women who made these recipes by hand - and how lucky I feel that I don't have to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 676) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States