Grandma VanDoren's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by MWell
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
So easy and so delicious. A soft white bread. Perfect crumb. Watch the video. I didn't know what a sponge was related to making bread but the video shows how it should look. This is only my second time making bread and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
By far the best recipe i have ever used!! I substituted all-purpose flour instead of bread flour (which has more gluten) and it is delicious!! Nice n fluffy. Followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I made this in my KA. We enjoyed it but it was a bit too sweet for my taste. I made 2/3 of the recipe, 1/3 was the loaf and the other 1/3 I made into cinnamon buns. This recipe worked well for the buns as it was a tad sweet. I loved the texture and will make it again but will scale back the sugar considerably. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
My husband thought the bread was a bit "yeasty" but I really liked this bread. So, so simple to make. I cut the recipe to a third to just make one loaf and it was an easy peasy addition to dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Limestone, New York, USA
Living In: Allegany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Geist
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
SO EASY! This is a delicious, light bread that rises quickly. Each step says you should wait about an hour in the video, however, I found that each step really only took 30-35 minutes. I think what makes this bread so great is the sponge rising technique. I yielded three high loaves of bread with this recipe. This is quite an easy recipe, especially if you have a mixer. I sent off one fresh loaf of this bread to a relative today! This is a bread recipe I am keeping and will be sharing with others :-) Note: You can also use all-purpose flour and the bread will still taste totally fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Geist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mason, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Awesome and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
wonderfully good recipe. ... it's a keeper made exactly as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Very easy and very soft bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I have tried a lot of bread recipes looking for that perfect texture, and this is it. I used coconut oil and only 1.5 tablespoons of yeast and it turned out perfect (I had reduced the recipe to make two loaves).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by neutle2
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This is so easy to make and was delicious. Didn't change a think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 682) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States