Grandma VanDoren's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I've used this recipe a number of times and love it. I start the yeast in the water & sugar first before continuing with the recipe, and I always need a lot more flour than the recipe calls for. I don't even think you can start kneading it until you have at least 9 (closer to 10) cups of flour in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Tried this recipe for the first time after trying a few others, and this is by far the best. I cooked the loaves a little longer than suggested and it improved the colour, crust, taste and texture. It's the only recipe I will now use. The flour used can be a mix of all purpose, strong white and wholemeal in any combination you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Freaking awesome bread. Seriously folks, stop thinking about making this bread and just do it. I was looking for a recipe that would come close to the bread I had when visiting my relatives on their farm in Northern Michigan and this nailed it. Just to put this in perspective, I made this bread in 90 degree weather with 85% humidity, left it to rise too long TWICE...AND baked in a silly toaster oven. (no one has an oven in the Carribean darlink) It still came out fabulous. Thank you to the person who posted this, I love you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Crockett, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I have been searching high and low, literally for years, for a light and airy bread recipe. This is it. There is one review that indicates the dough was watery - this has to be user error. As I approached my final cup of flour, I just added a little at a time so not to make the dough to dry. I can't see how 8 cups of flour to 3 cups of water could come out watery?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buggaboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I went ahead and ended up using 6 cups flour before my first rise, and added a bit more before it's second rise. Seems to have worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Didnt rise well at the end I used Bread flour & did all the directions correct. This is my 2nd attempt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usmccopwife43

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terryville, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
For two years I have been looking for my favorite "go to" white bread recipe and I've tried about twenty others... But this is it! I've made this recipe about 10 times now and it is consistently just wonderful. Light, fluffy loaf with a fine crumb while still managing to be substantial but never dense or heavy. I will continue to use this recipe. My family absolutely loves it but I'm the one who gets the first delicious, buttered slice, still warm from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I was looking for a new bread recipe and I found an amazing one. Followed the directions EXACT and came out with 3 perfect loaves of bread. So uncomplicated it was almost too good to be true. My grandmother did milk and butter and heated everything exact. I've been using an over complicated recipe until now. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by slmerk
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
LOVE this bread, this is the second time I made it and I tried rolling a cinnamon & sugar mixture into one loaf, it didn't work out like I wanted, next time I'll use butter with it. Will definitely keep using this for my go to bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I did this receipe a couple of times, and I really like for breakfast as it is a sweet bred. I don`t use dry yeast but frexh one as it is much better. 30g of fresh yeast for 8 cups of flour. I think it is important to put the salt as last ingredient as salt may kill the yeast if enter in direct contact. If your dough didn`t rise That may be the reason for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 630) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States