Grandma VanDoren's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
OMG..! I never made a loaf of regular white bread before..this recipe was easy to follow and the result, an awesome 3 loaves of bread...mmmmm so yummy with butter and some of my strawberry rhubarb jam......Thanks for sharing...!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jane Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
My family LOVES this bread!!! I can't emphasize enough to get those wonderful recipes from Grandmothers, Greatgrandmothers!!! Or like the lady with the alive recipe, it was lost when she passed.... Instead of Oil for this recipe, I substitute Organic Coconut Oil(melted in the microwave about 20 seconds) the bread has come out perfect every time! Now if I could just figure out how to make cinnamon brown sugar rolls with it????!!! I've seen some reviews say pizza dough and rolls....Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
used this recipe for pizza dough just remove the sugar awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Second recipe I tried from this site and this blows the other one away!!! It came out so moist!!! I did spread a little bit of "I can't believe it's not butter" on the top of each loaf with 15 minutes left to cook, then covered with foil and finished cooking. Then while cooling I brushed a little more ICBINB on top... so yummy!!! My 5 year old who does not like bread at all LOVES this stuff... so I will not be buying bread any more.. this is what she will eat so I will be making it!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I made one loaf of this recipe and one loaf from the recipe I usually use from this site. The loaf from my usual recipe rose nicely and came out perfect. This bread did not rice nicely at all and though my husband thought it tasted okay, I did not care for it. It also took an hour longer than my usual recipe so I think I will stick with what has worked well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Excellent bread!! I really like that the recipe makes 3 loaves. I make 2 for bread and other one for cinnamon rolls or dinner rolls. Very good taste and texture, perfect for sandwiches. Brushed with a little egg wash for a nice golden shiny look. I no longer buy store bought bread. Thanks for the recipe. -Denece
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denece Frisbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Absolutely wonderful! My family wants me to make it every week as a staple food! Yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Well, I have never made bread with oil before, and was really skeptical about using it. No more skepticism, it does work. This bread has great texture, and wonderful homemade taste. Made three loaves this AM, the dough raised wonderfully, but with 3 TBSP yeast you would expect that. Will use this recipe as my go to from now on. Thanks for sharing such a great one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This recipe is quick and easy to make, but the best part is how taste. It compares to my mother & grandmother's bread, and that's saying something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This is the best recipe, I just love it. One thing I wonder about "why, after dough rise it is bumpy and not smooth"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 642) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States