Grandma Strait's Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This was very good fudge. I let it set for a day in the refrigerator then cut it up. Very good. Use powdered sugar for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This was horrible! It would have been fine if it hadn't had the sugar but it turned gritty, and tasted like someone had dumped cat litter in the batter! I did not read reviews until after I made this, a mistake I have learned from for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This should definitely be modified to specifically say POWDERED sugar, not regular. Mix was way to thick in the beginning and was extremely difficult to get to temperature was very grainy now adding milk in a hope to salvage. I am going back to my grandmothers way from now on, no more fake shortcut recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This recipe is terrible, maybe powdered sugar should of been mentioned! DO NOT USE REGULAR GRANULATED SUGAR. It will not come out as something you would want to eat. Very disappointed with this and no way would a real grandmother claim this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
This is either the exact recipe off of the jar of marshmallow creme, or its very similar. I can't understand why everyone had to use powdered sugar. My family has been making this for years, and its never turned out badly. Its actually the only fudge I will eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I used SIFTED confectioner's sugar (also called icing sugar or powdered sugar). And I used a double boiler when heating the mixture just to make sure it didn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I am so sorry to put a bad review on here, but here I go. YUCK!!!! This is terrible! To gritty, I wish now I had used powdered sugar, as recomended by others. I made this for Christmas, and what a disapointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CyndeG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
DO NOT follow this recipe! I am a "seasoned baker" and followed the recipe to a T. If the recipe is right, then use powdered sugar, not granulated--but I have not tried that version yet...taste is good, but gritty as heck, don't waste $15 in ingredients by following this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micki J

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I wore my arms out making this...it was incredibly thick to begin with and was NEVER syrupy...I really think the measurements must have been printed wrong on the recipe...4 cups of sugar??? It sounded like a lot but I trusted this recipe since it said it was used in a candy shop. As the temp. got higher it started smelling burnt and the sugar NEVER dissolved. I just wasted a bunch of money and the fudge is no good...sorry to be negative but it's pretty disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I did not use powder sugar, my dad loved it. It reminded him of his Mom's. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berkley, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Confetti Fudge Bites

See how to make fun, festive confetti bites!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States