Grandma Strait's Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
12 15 00 I tried this recipe today, and it turned out terrible, sugary. I think the sugar amount must be wrong compared to others on the web. I will probably throw it away. Totally disappointed. Mrs. Sheets
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
This fudge was great. I guess I guessed correctly that you should use POWDERED sugar, not granulated. This explains the large quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This was very good fudge. I let it set for a day in the refrigerator then cut it up. Very good. Use powdered sugar for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I did not use powder sugar, my dad loved it. It reminded him of his Mom's. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berkley, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
This is either the exact recipe off of the jar of marshmallow creme, or its very similar. I can't understand why everyone had to use powdered sugar. My family has been making this for years, and its never turned out badly. Its actually the only fudge I will eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
Not bad... IF you use powdered sugar. SIFTED powdered sugar. Otherwise you'll get little pellets. Good flavor. Not sure if I'll use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ward Langston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I used SIFTED confectioner's sugar (also called icing sugar or powdered sugar). And I used a double boiler when heating the mixture just to make sure it didn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
This is a terrible recipe for fudge! It is not descriptive enough about the cooking techniques - very bad for beginners like me! It says to heat the mixture, but it doesn't say what heat setting on your stove, and whether or not to stir it. After you remove it from heat, it doesn't say if it should cool down to room temperature before adding the marshmallow, and it doesn't say if you should let it set in the refrigerator or not. As a result, my first try at fudge came out terrible - the chocolate burned in the pan either because I had the heat too high (I had it set on the "medium" setting of my dial) or because I didn't stir and maybe I should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This was the worst fudge recipe I ever tried. Either the recipe instructions were incomplete, or the wrong ingredients were listed. I wasted a lot of ingredients and am still trying to scrub out my pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
This was a pretty bad recipe and now I have to go buy something for the party I'm going to. The sugar never melted and I ended up with very gritty fudge. A huge waste, would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States