Grandma Strait's Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
This fudge was great. I guess I guessed correctly that you should use POWDERED sugar, not granulated. This explains the large quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
This is a terrible recipe for fudge! It is not descriptive enough about the cooking techniques - very bad for beginners like me! It says to heat the mixture, but it doesn't say what heat setting on your stove, and whether or not to stir it. After you remove it from heat, it doesn't say if it should cool down to room temperature before adding the marshmallow, and it doesn't say if you should let it set in the refrigerator or not. As a result, my first try at fudge came out terrible - the chocolate burned in the pan either because I had the heat too high (I had it set on the "medium" setting of my dial) or because I didn't stir and maybe I should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
This recipe has been far from rewarding for the effort and time involved. Despite my stirring constantly for 45 minutes, the sugar never really melted to give the fudge the smoothness it should have. Moreover, it got burned at the bottom, although I used the low setting on the range. After pouring the fudge in the pan, it hardened like a rock, making cutting difficult. A total waste of time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
12 15 00 I tried this recipe today, and it turned out terrible, sugary. I think the sugar amount must be wrong compared to others on the web. I will probably throw it away. Totally disappointed. Mrs. Sheets
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I don't understand why it was not specified that it required powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I did not use powder sugar, my dad loved it. It reminded him of his Mom's. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berkley, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
I wasted prescious time in my holiday baking, I tried cane fudge and peanut butter fudge from this website that turned out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie Joe Jacobs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I wish I had read the reviews first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
Not bad... IF you use powdered sugar. SIFTED powdered sugar. Otherwise you'll get little pellets. Good flavor. Not sure if I'll use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
I tried the recipe twice and just couldn't get it to work. I think the amount of sugar listed must be incorrect. It was very difficult to get the mixture to a boiling point, it scorched easily and the finished product was very "gritty".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States