Grandma Strait's Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I don't understand why it was not specified that it required powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
I wasted prescious time in my holiday baking, I tried cane fudge and peanut butter fudge from this website that turned out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie Joe Jacobs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I wish I had read the reviews first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
This was a pretty bad recipe and now I have to go buy something for the party I'm going to. The sugar never melted and I ended up with very gritty fudge. A huge waste, would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This was the worst fudge recipe I ever tried. Either the recipe instructions were incomplete, or the wrong ingredients were listed. I wasted a lot of ingredients and am still trying to scrub out my pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
This is a terrible recipe for fudge! It is not descriptive enough about the cooking techniques - very bad for beginners like me! It says to heat the mixture, but it doesn't say what heat setting on your stove, and whether or not to stir it. After you remove it from heat, it doesn't say if it should cool down to room temperature before adding the marshmallow, and it doesn't say if you should let it set in the refrigerator or not. As a result, my first try at fudge came out terrible - the chocolate burned in the pan either because I had the heat too high (I had it set on the "medium" setting of my dial) or because I didn't stir and maybe I should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
Not bad... IF you use powdered sugar. SIFTED powdered sugar. Otherwise you'll get little pellets. Good flavor. Not sure if I'll use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
This fudge was great. I guess I guessed correctly that you should use POWDERED sugar, not granulated. This explains the large quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
Amount of sugar must be wrong. I thought I would try it exactly like the recipe - terrible mess. I added evaporated milk and boiled it until the mess dissolved, then beat it at length in my kitchen aid - then put it in jars and gave it away for fudge topping for ice cream. I had also wasted 2 cups of pecans. Next time, I'll follow my cooking instincts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
I tried the recipe twice and just couldn't get it to work. I think the amount of sugar listed must be incorrect. It was very difficult to get the mixture to a boiling point, it scorched easily and the finished product was very "gritty".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Confetti Fudge Bites

See how to make fun, festive confetti bites!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States