Grandma Sophie's Smashed Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Awesome recipe, Simply Awesome!! Everyone request I make this recipe at any family gathering or BBQ now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Great recipe but now im constanly making potato salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This potato salad is really good and I always have the few ingredients on hand. I sometimes use bread & butter pickles instead of dill and that is a completely different taste, but very good. This is the only potato salad I make and everyone loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This is one of my favorite ways to make potato salad and really my husband's favorite way to eat potato salad. I like to add a tablespoon or two of dijon mustard, some chopped green or red onion, some garlic powder/onion powder/fresh black pepper and add in the mayo gradually until it gets to the right consistancy. Depending on your potatoes, you might need either less or more than the recipe states. This is really a great base recipe to just play with and make more personal to you and your family's tastes. NOTE: This is a great base for Cold Baked Potato Salad, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
The best and easiest potato salad!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Sometimes simple is the best. That was definitely the case with this dish. I used Miracle Whip and sweet pickle relish instead of chopping the pickles myself. I couldn't help it and added a tiny dab of yellow mustard and a little onion powder. I cut this in half (except the eggs, I used all 3 because I forgot to scale down) and it was a little dry so maybe next time I will add more Miracle Whip. My husband said this was like deviled eggs salad with potatoes and he loved this. I agreed it is our new favorite recipe and so simple too! Thanks for sharing Grandma Sophie's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Love this! Over the last couple days I'd been thinking of some sort of potato and egg salad but I never keep yellow or red potatoes around ad was trying to decide if mashed (or nearly mashed) would work. So happy I found this, it's exactly what I was picturing. I did leave out the pickle and added bacon pieces and green onions instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This was good, a little bland and a little dry, so I added about a half cup of Miracle Whip and a Tbsp of mustard and 2 or 3 Tbsp of pickle juice. The DH and the five-yr-old loved it! Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fenton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Barnhart, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This is pretty good, different texture than any other potato salad I have ever had. I prefer this slightly warm, just after it's made. It's still very good after it has been chilled though. It is like smashed potatoes, being it's mixed while warm. I added a bit of mustard too, I like the tartness it adds to potato salads. This is perfect when craving potato salad with only having few ingrediants on hand, and you don't have to let it set for hours either. Thanks for the recipe (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Simple and fantastic....My girl who eats nothing would'nt leave it alone long enough to cool....THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynndog (,)(,)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States