Grandma Sophie's Smashed Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Vicky's Mom's Warm Potato Salad Delicious salad, best served warm, but cold good too. My friend's Mom makes this, but improves it in the following way: Eliminate the pickle. Instead, very finely chop two stalks celery & one medium very sweet onion. Place the chopped onion in the 2 cups mayo to marinate (it removes the raw onion taste) while u cook the potatoes & eggs. Cook potatoes till done (15 min or so). Cook eggs till done also. Drain potatoes & eggs. Peel eggs & chop. Put eggs in w/hot potatoes. Take two butter knives & hold them so u cut in a "criss cross" fashion to "cut/slightly smash" the potatoes. Add the mayo/onion mixture & the celery & mix lightly. If dry, add a bit more mayo to taste. Season w/salt/pepper to taste. This warm mixture sounds odd, but tastes heavenly. Perfect taste/texture combo. Excellent w/any type of sandwich, baked ham, brisket, meat loaf, roast/fried chicken, pork roast, hamburgers/hot dogs, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This is one of my favorite ways to make potato salad and really my husband's favorite way to eat potato salad. I like to add a tablespoon or two of dijon mustard, some chopped green or red onion, some garlic powder/onion powder/fresh black pepper and add in the mayo gradually until it gets to the right consistancy. Depending on your potatoes, you might need either less or more than the recipe states. This is really a great base recipe to just play with and make more personal to you and your family's tastes. NOTE: This is a great base for Cold Baked Potato Salad, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This is very good. I found that I missed the chopped onion, so I added it, a squirt of yellow mustard and some black pepper. I think next time I would just use relish instead of chopping the pickle. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I used this recipe and it was a hit. My grandmother in-law said it was the best potato salad she had ever tasted. That is a great compliment from her, she doesn't say something unless she means it. I did use left over mashed potatoes and used bread and butter pickles instead of the dill. It was great, I will use this recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ash Grove, Missouri, USA
Living In: Willard, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I love this potato salad and have used this recipe for several years. The only change I make is to use India relish instead of the chopped pickles (I have also used regular old pickle relish in this several times). Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I am normally NOT a potato salad fan but this recipe is surprisingly very good and super simple! Instead of plain salt, I used Celery Salt since I had it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Sometimes simple is the best. That was definitely the case with this dish. I used Miracle Whip and sweet pickle relish instead of chopping the pickles myself. I couldn't help it and added a tiny dab of yellow mustard and a little onion powder. I cut this in half (except the eggs, I used all 3 because I forgot to scale down) and it was a little dry so maybe next time I will add more Miracle Whip. My husband said this was like deviled eggs salad with potatoes and he loved this. I agreed it is our new favorite recipe and so simple too! Thanks for sharing Grandma Sophie's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
Nice twist on a potatoe salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I love simple potato salad. I used dill cubes (kind of like relish) and it was much easier than cutting the pickle up. Easy to put together at the last minute with simple ingredients you can keep on hand. This will become my stand-by potato salad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ephrata, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This is pretty good, different texture than any other potato salad I have ever had. I prefer this slightly warm, just after it's made. It's still very good after it has been chilled though. It is like smashed potatoes, being it's mixed while warm. I added a bit of mustard too, I like the tartness it adds to potato salads. This is perfect when craving potato salad with only having few ingrediants on hand, and you don't have to let it set for hours either. Thanks for the recipe (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States