Grandma Sophie's Smashed Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Vicky's Mom's Warm Potato Salad Delicious salad, best served warm, but cold good too. My friend's Mom makes this, but improves it in the following way: Eliminate the pickle. Instead, very finely chop two stalks celery & one medium very sweet onion. Place the chopped onion in the 2 cups mayo to marinate (it removes the raw onion taste) while u cook the potatoes & eggs. Cook potatoes till done (15 min or so). Cook eggs till done also. Drain potatoes & eggs. Peel eggs & chop. Put eggs in w/hot potatoes. Take two butter knives & hold them so u cut in a "criss cross" fashion to "cut/slightly smash" the potatoes. Add the mayo/onion mixture & the celery & mix lightly. If dry, add a bit more mayo to taste. Season w/salt/pepper to taste. This warm mixture sounds odd, but tastes heavenly. Perfect taste/texture combo. Excellent w/any type of sandwich, baked ham, brisket, meat loaf, roast/fried chicken, pork roast, hamburgers/hot dogs, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I used this recipe and it was a hit. My grandmother in-law said it was the best potato salad she had ever tasted. That is a great compliment from her, she doesn't say something unless she means it. I did use left over mashed potatoes and used bread and butter pickles instead of the dill. It was great, I will use this recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ash Grove, Missouri, USA
Living In: Willard, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
We really liked this potato salad. I made it pretty much as is, but I used red skinned baby potatoes, so I didn't need to peel them (thank God). Missed the onion a little, but the dill pickle was a great change. Very easy. I threw the eggs in with the potatoes for the last 10 minutes. Both my husband and picky sons could not stop sticking forks in the bowl. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
This is my Granny's potato salad! All except the mayonnaise, two cups is a little much. I would reduce it by at least a half a cup. Sometimes it seems like people have to have a ton of ingredients to make it seem "special". Here's to an old fashioned recipe that just can't be beat. For me myself, I like just a tiny bit of mustard in it, hee hee hee. Try this recipe, simple and oh so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChunkyMonkeyMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This is almost like the potato salad I grew up eating. Brings back fond memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This is very good. I found that I missed the chopped onion, so I added it, a squirt of yellow mustard and some black pepper. I think next time I would just use relish instead of chopping the pickle. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
My familie hates potato salad and thay have actualy asked me to make this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I love simple potato salad. I used dill cubes (kind of like relish) and it was much easier than cutting the pickle up. Easy to put together at the last minute with simple ingredients you can keep on hand. This will become my stand-by potato salad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ephrata, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
My husband, Potato Salad Snob, LOVED this salad. Begs me to make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Finally a good potato salad without onions and celery!!! THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States