Grandma Slattery's Michigan Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I too grew up in Morrisonville/Plattsburgh area and thankfully get to make the 14 hr. trip back at least once a year. Cumin is a spice that you either love or hate. Like anything, tweak the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I made this for my boyfriend who is from way upstate NY and he loved it! He said it was really close to the Michigan's he loves from Plattsburgh, NY. I made it on the stove then transferred it to my crackpot to simmer for an hour or so until we were ready to eat and it was perfect! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
My husband grew up in the North Country and introduced me to Michigans. This recipe is by far his favorite. I'm a convert myself. Love them! Only change we've made to the recipe was to add a bay leaf while it simmers (and remove when done). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Well...since it's supposed to be a 'topping' for hot dogs, as opposed to a 'Main Dish' or used for tacos, I left out the brown sugar & ketchup. My 'vinegar' came from a jar of jalepenos & also some pepperoncinis that I chopped in it. Also, I diced my green peppers and onions very fine, so folks predisposed to 'not' liking those two won't hardly know they r there. Did add one small can of paste, at the end, for very little color but it did make nice diff. NOW...this will be nice nice on top of a steamed dog, mustard under. Can't wait to try it. BTW: truth be told, first time I heard of 'Michigan Sauce' and had it at Village Snack Bar in Rutland, VT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Proctorsville, Vermont, USA
Living In: Manasquan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I grew up eating Gene's michigans and I think I might know these Slatterys actually graduated with one of them and have been craving michigans. I was really surprised to see this recipe much like the one I used to make. Its in the crockpot right now and I have no doubt that we will love it!! Thanks so much you certainly made my day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I would make just one recommendation, size the recipe up a little, and use a slow cooker. Once the sauce and spices are up to temperature, add the meat and stir it in to make the meat in the sauce as fine as possible. Let it cook over night, and adjust the spices to taste later in the day. The Michigan's are traditionally made with Glazier Hots, which have a casing, and with finely minced onions buried under the sauce on the hot dog. The sauce freezes well, and if you size up the recipe, you can enjoy the Michigans whenever you want, by simply thawing some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saranac Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Latham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Very good. I mashed the mixture with a potato masher for a finer consistency and added red pepper flakes, cumin and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TashiLynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I increased the brown sugar (just a little) and added a few pinches of ground allspice. Great coney sauce!! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Tastes like ketchup with beef. Not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States