Grandma Sal's Peach Kuchen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This was very good! I picked it because i thought i only had whipping cream, but it turn out that was expired and I found a cup of sour cream! It was so good with the sour cream, I don't think I'll ever use anything else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElizabethLeigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
This was delicious. I'm sure the recipe is great as is but I made two additions . I used a cup and a half of flour and a half cup of ground almonds in the crust and I added 3 tbsp.of chopped lemon verbena to the cream mix...I used 10% coffee cream and it came out fine.Used a large flan pan. Thanks for a simple but lovely desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
This was delicious. I doubled it to make two since I had so many peaches to use. Also, I had trouble peeling my peaches after boiling, so I boiled them and when I found I couldn't get the peel off, I just cut them into segments and also added in a half pint of blueberries to each with the peaches and it came out delicious. I'm sure the top would have looked prettier using halves, but it tasted wonderful. My boss at worked called it "the best dessert I made yet."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
I lost my 40 year plus peach kuchen recipe, this is identical to mine except my old recipe called for sour cream in place of whipping cream. I use lite sour cream and fresh nutmeg on top. Sour cream gives it a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Best recipe ever!!! My dad raves about this dessert. It just so decadent! The only thing I change is, I use 1/4 cup of the sugar in the crust, and then I use only about 1/2 cup of sugar in with the whipping cream mixture. So rich and creamy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
My neighbor use to make this when I was a child. This is perfect, just the way I remember it! The only change I made was I changed the cream to be half sour cream and half cream. I remember my neighbor using sour cream when she made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Zippy, bursting with peach flavor. Not overly sweet. The custard is just wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A. Stratton
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This was a nice change of pace as far as peach desserts are concerned. My husband and I really enjoyed it, though I plan on making these adjustments in the future: Instead of sprinkling the peaches with the sugar and cinnamon, I will mix these into the custard. The custard, though delicious, needs that bit of sweetness in my opinion. I also added a bit of nutmeg, as I feel all custards should have a bit of nutmeg. I made this recipe in a springform pan, and it turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edna, Kansas, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This is wonderful. I made a few changes: I put 1/2 cup sugar in the crust, the other 1/2 cup I mixed in the cream/egg mixture. I sprinkled a little sugar on the peaches as well. I used an extra egg yolk because my eggs were small. I made the mistake of baking mine for 40 minutes. Don't do it, the crust is too hard. The 30 minute option would have been perfect. Also, I sliced my peaches so they would cover the crust well. This is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I picked this recipe because I had some whipping cream that needed used up and I had all the rest of the ingredients. One of my guests told my husband "If you weren't married to her, I'd marry her just for this dessert!" but I was on the fence about it when I tried it the day it was made (as recommended, still warm, an hour or so out of the oven). I felt like it was super sweet and the crust was a little dry. However, when I tried it the next day I really enjoyed it. The sweetness of the fruit layer blended more with the crust and the custard. The crust absorbed a little of the moisture of the top layers too, and it was very yummy. I used frozen sliced peaches and they worked great, they were done just right with the suggested cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States