Grandma Sal's Peach Kuchen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
This was delicious. I'm sure the recipe is great as is but I made two additions . I used a cup and a half of flour and a half cup of ground almonds in the crust and I added 3 tbsp.of chopped lemon verbena to the cream mix...I used 10% coffee cream and it came out fine.Used a large flan pan. Thanks for a simple but lovely desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
This was delicious. I doubled it to make two since I had so many peaches to use. Also, I had trouble peeling my peaches after boiling, so I boiled them and when I found I couldn't get the peel off, I just cut them into segments and also added in a half pint of blueberries to each with the peaches and it came out delicious. I'm sure the top would have looked prettier using halves, but it tasted wonderful. My boss at worked called it "the best dessert I made yet."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
it was alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Not good at all. I used canned peaches instead of fresh, but I don't think that made any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
I lost my 40 year plus peach kuchen recipe, this is identical to mine except my old recipe called for sour cream in place of whipping cream. I use lite sour cream and fresh nutmeg on top. Sour cream gives it a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Best recipe ever!!! My dad raves about this dessert. It just so decadent! The only thing I change is, I use 1/4 cup of the sugar in the crust, and then I use only about 1/2 cup of sugar in with the whipping cream mixture. So rich and creamy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
My neighbor use to make this when I was a child. This is perfect, just the way I remember it! The only change I made was I changed the cream to be half sour cream and half cream. I remember my neighbor using sour cream when she made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I would have added cinnamon and more butter to the crust and sliced the peaches rather than halve them. Otherwise, this was very good. *Tip- to peel peaches, dip them in boiling water for 30-60 seconds then dunk in ice cold water then peel. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This was good. I put it in a meduim size springform pan. Next time I will add a little cinnamon to the crust and more peaches. I did only add half the sugar, because we don't like things overly sweet. Also used half and half and will try the sourcream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
This dessert is fabulous. I used fresh sliced peaches. I only used 1/3 cup sugar and substituted Splenda for the remaining sugar. I also used sour cream instead of the heavy cream. This recipe is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States