Grandma Sal's Peach Kuchen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I should've mixed in sugar with the egg/cream mixture. This was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This was yummy. No complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This is amazing. I followed the recipe exactly it is like flaky and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This was very good! I picked it because i thought i only had whipping cream, but it turn out that was expired and I found a cup of sour cream! It was so good with the sour cream, I don't think I'll ever use anything else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElizabethLeigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I picked this recipe because I had some whipping cream that needed used up and I had all the rest of the ingredients. One of my guests told my husband "If you weren't married to her, I'd marry her just for this dessert!" but I was on the fence about it when I tried it the day it was made (as recommended, still warm, an hour or so out of the oven). I felt like it was super sweet and the crust was a little dry. However, when I tried it the next day I really enjoyed it. The sweetness of the fruit layer blended more with the crust and the custard. The crust absorbed a little of the moisture of the top layers too, and it was very yummy. I used frozen sliced peaches and they worked great, they were done just right with the suggested cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I won a baking contest with this recipe (Thanks, Grandma Sal!) Great recipe, but a bit sweet. Cut the sugar to half the amount, and you'll be golden. I also used light sour cream, because I wanted a lighter, more refreshing summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This is wonderful. I made a few changes: I put 1/2 cup sugar in the crust, the other 1/2 cup I mixed in the cream/egg mixture. I sprinkled a little sugar on the peaches as well. I used an extra egg yolk because my eggs were small. I made the mistake of baking mine for 40 minutes. Don't do it, the crust is too hard. The 30 minute option would have been perfect. Also, I sliced my peaches so they would cover the crust well. This is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A. Stratton
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This was a nice change of pace as far as peach desserts are concerned. My husband and I really enjoyed it, though I plan on making these adjustments in the future: Instead of sprinkling the peaches with the sugar and cinnamon, I will mix these into the custard. The custard, though delicious, needs that bit of sweetness in my opinion. I also added a bit of nutmeg, as I feel all custards should have a bit of nutmeg. I made this recipe in a springform pan, and it turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edna, Kansas, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Zippy, bursting with peach flavor. Not overly sweet. The custard is just wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I never had Peach Kuchen so I didn't quite know what to expect. I thought it was pretty good. My dish didn't look like the picture so I may have done something wrong. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States