Grandma Ruth's Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I love Grandma Ruth! I've never made stuffing before (never really cared much for it) but this was great. I added savory sage sausage so didn't add any extra sage. Toasted the french bread after I cubed it. I ended up using an entire box of chicken stock to moisten. Oh and forgot to put in the eggs but they weren't missed. Added portabello mushrooms & shitakis to the white buttons. I made it up the night before Thanksgiving and popped it in the oven as soon as the turkey finished. It took 45 to brown on the top, but was worth the wait. I received the best compliment. I was told it was the best stuffing someone had ever eaten including their grandmothers. Thank you, Grandma Ruth! I now like stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
First time I made Thanksgiving and this was just ok to me. They lacked the kick I was looking for. I put lots of gravy on them so they tasted bettter. I could modify this to be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmaandAvasmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Very good. I used 2 cans of chicken broth. The kids loved it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Very tasty with good flavour and texture. I found this recipe before I made my first huge Thanksgiving dinner, and I have never used anything else since. The stuffing mix I use is Mrs. Cubbison's brand. It always brings lots of compliments, even from people who say they usually hate stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
i tried this recipe and loved it especially when i added lobster and conch. i got rave reviews from my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
This was pretty dry and I poured quite a bit of liquid over it. I didn't have chicken broth so I just used chicken boullion cubes to make a stock...maybe I needed the real chicken broth. I'm just used to the wet bread and butter stuffing with onions and celery. I didn't care for the mushrooms and the eggs gave it an eggy smell for some reason, but then again I'm pregnant. It baked up nice and crunchy on top, but the flavor of it just didn't satisfy me. I used extra sage, salt, pepper, and a touch of garlic. I think I'll stick to my regular stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
I added a pound of sage flavored bulk sasuage and it as delicious! I only added 8 oz of mushrooms (I thought I had picked up a large package and did not)...and I would put in the full pound next time. I will definately make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN JOHNSON-SUSKO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sellersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
This is a great stuffing recipe. I added sage sausage and rather than using a loaf of bread I just used a slightly large box of seasoned bread cubes than called for. I mixed everything together and then added the chicken broth to my desired texture. I think I used about 1.5 cans. This is the first year I baked the stuffing outside of the turkey and it came out just as moist and flavorful using this recipe. I think I will be doing this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
Regarding my entry below - I just wanted to clarify that I kept everything else in the recipe the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
Outstanding results two years in a row. Bob Evans spicy breakfast sausage makes a fabulous addition. I have been dubbed offical stuffing maker for family gatherings from now on with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States