Grandma Ruth's Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe! I've used it for the past few years and one year even substituted cornbread and a cornbread stuffing mix for the white bread. It's excellent both ways. I echo what another reviewer wrote - this is what stuffing is supposed to taste like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Excellent...Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I added sausage and apples. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikkivazquez
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I was a little bit dissapointed with this one. My family didnt eat this at all! Luckily, my mother in law made stuffing in her turkey. I gave this 4 stars because we didnt care for the taste but if you like these spices it is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikkivazquez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I have made this stuffing for two thanksgivings now. It is moist and delicious when I cook it in the bird, but I am still working on making it as good when I make it separately. I omit the mushrooms and I add a sausage roll (the sage Jimmy Dean roll is really good if you can find it), which I cook on the stove first and break up into pieces. I skip the step about wetting the bread because it seems tedious. I just use bread that is a few days old and I toast it before I cut it up. When I made this for thanksgiving this year, I used a 34oz box of chicken broth, and it still didnt seem moist enough, so I added a cup of water and an additional egg. I pressed it into two pans and baked at 350 for about 45 minutes, the first 30 minutes with aluminum foil over the top. The flavor was great, but it didnt seem moist enough to me and it didnt really stick together as well as I thought it should. I will add more broth next time I make this and see if it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
The hubby liked it, and even asked me to save it for leftovers! (i had alot!) I felt it was a little mushy. I suggest not wetting the bread down like stated. Just use one can of chicken broth. I will not make this next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Very easy to follow, and great when stuffed in the bird!! But the extra stuffing that we baked in the oven turned out much too sage-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I've never had eggs in my stuffing before so I didn't think I would like it, but I think this was my favorite stuffing yet! Leftovers are great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
yum -made the night before-I think thats a must!got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This was amazing and makes Alot! I added one more can of chicken broth and cooked in a 9 x 13 pan for forty minutes, 20 minutes with foil and 20 without. I do recommend mixing the stuffing early and letting the flavors blend together to make sure it's not bland so you can adjust it to taste. Try it, you won't be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States