Grandma Ruth's Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
Made for Thanksgiving and everyone thought it was a wonderful. I don't stuff our bird and just used another can of broth to moisten more as another reviewer suggested. Put in a 9x13 dish. Made the night before and it cooked great in about 45 minutes. Definitely a keeper. Nothing fancy, but a classic to please everyone's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
This was my first time cooking a homemade stuffing as well as my first turkey. To make things simple I prepared the stuffing the night before Christmas. I cut the recipe in half and still used two cans of chicken broth. I like my stuffing moist. I also added some bulk sausage with sage. My friends and relatives loved it. Some said it was the best stuffing they have ever had. I think the sausage is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I made this for Thanksgiving this year, it was wonderful! It was my first time making stuffing and this was a complete success. It makes a HUGE amount, probably enough to feed 15+ people. We only had 8 and it was still towering afterwards. I did omit the mushrooms and used fresh sage. I wasn't sure how long to cook it since we did it outside the bird, but I went for about 40 minutes, the first 20 with foil and the second 20 without. This worked well and the top was crispy but not burnt. Yum, yum, yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2001
My entire dinner party wanted the recipe-- it was easy to prepare using my Cusinart food processor. I would recommend a bit more sage and definately add the bulk sausage- Grandma Ruth knew what she was doing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This is an amazing recipe. I make it every year. Sometimes I double up on the liquids- and sometimes I'll add driend cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scottmoorela
Home Town: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
When I made this, I saw 2 tablespoons of garlic and knew it would be too much. I halved it and it was still too much. Go light on the garlic and it's a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This was a wonderful traditional stuffing recipe! I prepared it for Thanksgiving and it was a hit! I did use about 1/2 the garlic the recipe called for and still thought that was plenty, but to each their own. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Absolutely wonderful stuffing! I finaaly found a stuffing that I will eat. The flavor is delicious and the texture is great. Definately a family favorite! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
I finally decided to make homemade stuffing this holiday for the first time. I chose this one and it was fabulous! Everyone loved it! They even said it was better than my mother-in-law's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Washington, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
A very tasty stuffing , but I will add more sage to it next time...my family likes alot of sage flavor to their stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States