Grandma Rita's Soft Butter Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I have tried these twice because Step 4 using the wax paper was a disaster. It stuck to the dough and was a mess. I did use flour but I was left peeling the wax paper out of the dough. If I wasn't needing these that day, I would have just thrown out the home mess. The 2nd time I used my pampered chef silicone mat and it came out great. These are now my go to rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bovey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
These are so tasty and easy to make! This will now be my go to recipe for my homemade rolls. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
These are so good. I don't always do very well with yeast and these turned out pretty good even though I over baked them a bit. Thanks Lela! UPDATE 2014, even better this year, I'm getting used to yeast:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This were easy to make - I thought they tasted too floury when they first came out of the oven, but my husband said they were better after the next day. Everyone seemed to enjoy them at the Thanksgiving table so maybe my initial reaction was off-base
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I make a lot of bread.. I'm a High School Foods teacher, I bake as a hobby and honestly, these are the best rolls I've ever made. I love my no knead bread recipes for everyday bread... but these rolls were super easy, super fast and super delicious. They're light and fluffy, golden and buttery. The only change I'd make is to add a bit more salt, but my foods kids actually made the dough, so I can't be 100% positive they used the correct amount of salt. :) Delicious, amazing.. I will be using this recipe instead of store bought dinner rolls and burger buns. wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Lyne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I made these in my KA and they were delicious. So light and feathery, everyone loved them. Thank you so much for taking the time to preserve this recipe. Thanks Lela!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This is the last new recipe for rolls I will ever try; they're that good. I don't use white sugar at all, so I substituted an equal amount of brown sugar and was concerned that it would have a negative effect. No need for worry. They turned out perfectly. My husband declared that he could make a meal out of just the rolls. As for me, I'm not a fan of bread products but I loved them too. Can't wait for the kids to get home from school to try them. I imagine I'll need to make another batch of them in short order. Good thing they're quick to pull together! Would give them more stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anneryscas
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Made following the recipe exactly, came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This one's a keeper! Mixed the dough in my Kitchen Aid with the dough hook and it worked great. I made these into smaller rolls and served them with Awesome Pulled Pork BBQ. Everyone loved them! Thanks Lela, for sharing your Grandma's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Threw everything into my bread machine and set on dough setting. Then, made into the rolls. These raise beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States