Grandma Ople's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2000
I baked 4 pies for a bake sale at work. They all sold within minutes. Everyone raved about how good the pies looked and tasted. I added cinnamon to the recipe. I also made one for my husband. He loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2000
My family loved this pie! They ask for it again and again. khighberg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2000
My first apple pie for Thanksgiving with my family, and everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
This pie was absolutely delicious, I've tried a lot of apple pie recipes and this was the best. I only used about 3 Red Delicious and 3 McIntosh apples. I also added some cinnamin and nutmeg to the sauce. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hayden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
I have made this pie 4 times since Thanksgiving and it has definitely been a hit. It is the first "fresh" apple pie I've ever made and each time it has come out looking like I've been making pies for years. Please go the "easy route" and buy Pillsbury "ready-made" crusts found in the "buscuit" section of the store--it comes with top and bottom crust and they work perfectly for this recipe. I like to add 1 teaspoon cinnamon, but it is very good both ways. Don't be afraid to pour the sugar paste on top of the lattice work crust. It has come out perfect every time I've made it. One thing I especially like about this pie is that the granny smith apples add the right amount of tartness to the sweetness of the sugar paste. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
This is a great recipe if you add cinnamon! My husband and sons all loved this one. Very quick and easy. I even forgot to simmer the sauce and it turned out great. I used pre-made pie shells and found I had to put them on a cookie sheet because they overflowed the pie. A larger pie shell may not have this trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
Looks as good as it tastes. I haven't used another apple pie recipe since I have found this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2000
This is a GREAT recipe. It was so easy to prepare and My Family Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2000
This was my first-ever apple pie. It was really easy (thanks to an apple peeler-corer-slicer), and pouring the sugar mixture over the top gave it a beautiful, sparkly brown lattice top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
This pie was delicious!! I, too, added most of the butter/sugar mixture in with the apples, saving a little to spread on the top crust. I didn't want to bother with the lattice crust, though, so I made a regular top crust. I just bought more apples today and plan to make another one for the weekend!! This pie doesn't last long around our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,684) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States