Grandma Ople's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This was the greatest apple pie recipe ever. I would not change a thing. I love that it was from a very loved Grandma and was shared with us. You do not always have to add cinnamon to apples. That is what I loved about this recipe. It was so fresh and delicious, and you could taste the wonderful flavors of the apples instead of just cinnamon. It was so much fun making it. I made it for my boyfriends birthday. He had to work out of town, so he took it with him and shared it with his friends. Everyone loved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Jacobs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This pie is AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgina DeWeese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phyllis
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This recipe is so easy and turns out so beautiful. Can't wait to taste it! I'm sure it will be delicious and will be my favorite apple pie from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Well, I must've done something wrong. I followed directions except added the teaspoon of cinnamon and poured 2/3 of the sauce over the apples and the rest on top. The taste was fantastic but not enough of the sauce came through the lattice work. The top crust was too crispy. It didn't look like the picture. Also, there was a lot of liquid in the pie, so maybe the water isn't necessary. We ate it slightly warm, but it wouldn't think that it make it that runny. I did not get rave reviews from the family like I was expecting. I would like to make it again, but will put all sauce inside, and maybe omit the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
The only thing I did different was to mix the cooked mixture with the apples before putting in pie pan, reserving a portion to dribble through the slits in a regular top crust. It worked great and my son-in-law said it was the BEST apple pie he had ever eaten. I, too, agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I hands down awesome....a added vanilla, nutmeg, cinnamon to the apples - the rest is good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Scheufele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I made a lot of changes using this fantastic recipe for the base to tweak it to my taste. I cut the sauce recipe in half because it simply sounded too sweet and too rich and used the same amount of apples to make the pie. I also added 1 t. cinnamon, a 1/4 t. nutmeg and 1/4 t. salt. to the sauce along with an extra T. of flour. I used JonaGold apples and it was fantastic. And I also used a regular, top crust (no lattice) with slits for venting. The half recipe of sauce that I made, I mixed in with the apples, put them in the pie pan and then topped with the crust. I baked the pie for 45-50 minutes at 365 (My crust did not burn at all!) Be mindful of the size of slices you cut the apples into. Smaller apple pieces bake faster. I actually cut my apples into 1/2 inch size chunks and they came out soft but not mushy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stanfield.julia
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Best ever! I have made this pie so many times! I usually add cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stanfield.julia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rick Ross
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Wow. Amazing. Really, I was a bit skeptical that the butter/sugar mixture would permeate all layers of the raw apples, but it did so with a resulting perfect balance. I used granny smith apples (why would you use anything else???) and sliced them thin - about 1/4 inch or less each. I was able to cut into the pie after only 1/2 hour of cooling and it was not at all runny. The next day, I re-heated a slice and it was still very moist. I did add about 1/2 teaspoon each of nutmeg and cinnamon to the filling sauce. But other than that, I followed the recipe. Without a doubt the best apple pie I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristin
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Amazing recipe! Best apple pie I have ever had hands down. Notes: I used Johnathan apples instead of Granny Smith, which turned out great. And I would recommend pouring half the sauce inside the pie instead of all on top of it. It was so much liquid it spilled over the crust & over the sides and down into the oven as it cooked. But avoid that and you will have a perfect pie better than any you could buy in a store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,795) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States