Grandma Ople's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Followed recipe exactly for syrup and filling. I sprinkled cinnamon and nutmeg on top of the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This is a delicious recipe! However, I added cinnamon (and next time I'd eliminate the water and add some cornstarch to help thicken it). Could easily add more spices (allspice, nutmeg, vanilla, etc.0 for your family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timothy Krecsmar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Best apple pie I have ever made...I just add a dash of cinnamon to the sauce...old habits....A definite winner and the only apple pie I make now! Five stars..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Hands down the best apple pie! I am not big into cooking or winging recipes. We went apple picking so I needed something to do with the apples. I have made 2 of these pies in one week. I followed the directions with the exception of brushing the bottom crust with an egg. I followed another reviewer by adding cinnamon but only 2 teaspoons. I added it to the apples rather than the mixture. The lattice crust makes for a great presentation! I poured most of the mixture over the apples, assembled the lattice pieces and poured the rest of the mixture over the top so it still was caramelized. I did have to put a pan under it to catch the drippings. I made my own pie crust from Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust recipe and my family and friends go nuts over this! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I've tried 6-8 apple pie recipes searching for one that is easy, allows the apples to shine and is not too sweet. Although I've reduced the butter and sugar to suit my family's taste, this is the best recipe ever. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Great pie! Easy to do and comes out perfect! I added cinnamon and nutmeg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clyde, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This pie recipe is a definite keeper! Just made this for the first time and it turned out beautiful and tastes even better. I used Aurora Golden Gala apples instead of Granny Smith and used Krusteaz pie crust mix. The mix is a bit more work but has a wonderful flavor and texture. I really can't image this recipe turning out anything but delicious! Thanks for submitting:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This recipe has definitely become my favorite apple pie recipe and everyone I know loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I have made this pie twice now, after the first was I was asked to make one for a co-workers birthday pie. I took some others advice and added just a tsp of cinnamon to the apples in a bowl and stirred it around I also added just a sprinkle of allspice to the apples and stirred. I took the advice and had the pie prepped though and ready before I started the sugar mixture on the stove. That way once that was ready I could just pour over the pie and put in the over quickly, once that starts cooling down it will not pour easily and your will have a mess on your hands. Get your apples peeled and cut and in the crust with the lattice top ready before you work the sugar mixture (best advice I read). This turned out absolutely gorgeous and tasty. I will be making this recipe for years to come. THANKS for a great recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This was my FIRST ever attempt at apple pie...WOW it was delish!! The only change I made to the recipe is that I used cortland apples rather than granny smith (because I had just gone apple picking) This will become our new family fave pie for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,663) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States